Manipur Congress president Keisham Meghachandra Singh

Imphal: MLA Keisham Meghachandra Singh of Wangkhem constituency has been named the new president of Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee (MPCC) on Wednesday .

In a press statement issued by party general secretary KC Venugopal, Congress president Sonia Gandhi also appointed four working presidents, treasurer, five vice-presidents and approved the proposal of the constitution of executive committee of MPCC with immediate effect.

The working presidents are T Manga Vaiphei, Md Fajur Rahim, Victor Keishing and Kh Devabrata Singh and Th Lokeshwar Singh as treasurer.

Also, the newly-appointed vice-presidents are Vidyapati Senjam, Alfred K Arthur, L Tilotama, Hareshwar Goshwami and Dr Lamtinthang Haokip.

Former chief minister and CLP leader Okram Ibobi Singh, Congress Working Committee member Gaikhangam and former MPCC president N Loken Singh among others have been appointed as part of the state executive committee.

It may be noted that earlier Nameirakpam Loken Singh tendered his resignation from the post of MPCC chief, taking responsibility for the defeat of the party in the recently held 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly elections.

Loken, who took charge as the Manipur Congress president, was also defeated by Basanta Kumar Singh of the BJP in the state polls.

Unfolding Lamka: Tales from Manipur’s football-loving town

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply