Tripura BJP MLA Ratan Chakraborty

Agartala: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) MLA Ratan Chakraborty has been elected the 14th Speaker of the Tripura Legislative Assembly.  

On Friday, at the beginning of the 10th session of the 12th Assembly, deputy speaker Biswabandhu Sen commenced the election of the Speaker and declared Chakraborty as the unopposed candidate.

The deputy speaker said three proposals were submitted for the election of the Speaker – by Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb and revenue minister NC Debbarma and by the deputy CM and finance minister Jishnu Dev Varma. The proposal was supported by tribal welfare Minister Mevar Kumar Jamatia. The third proposal was made by parliamentary affairs minister Ratan Lal Nath. Government Chief Whip Kalyani Roy supported his proposal. MLA Chakraborty was elected unopposed as the speaker.

Following the custom, the chief minister, deputy chief minister and members of the cabinet and the treasury bench conveyed the newly elected speaker to his seat.

After being elected as Speaker, Chakraborty thanked all the members of the legislative assembly and sought their cooperation in running the assembly. 

The newly-elected Speaker said all members of the assembly wish the welfare of the people. They work for the development of the state as well as for the solution of all the problems of the people. Therefore, he appealed for ensuring public welfare and development of Tripura through constructive talks. 

Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb congratulated Speaker Ratan Chakraborty on taking charge as the new Speaker and said, “Your experience in parliamentary politics will enrich the Tripura assembly.”

Leader of Opposition Manik Sarkar addressed the Speaker and said, “You will get the cooperation of the opposition as per the procedure.”

Also read: http://Won’t spare those involved in Abonmai’s murder: Manipur CM

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply