Both Lieutenant Col Thaiba Simon and Major Tasou Prau belong to the Poumai Naga tribe of Manipur Credit: Representational image

Imphal: Two officers from Manipur were among the 132 bravehearts of the Indian Army approved for the gallantry awards this year. The announcement was made by President Ram Nath Kovind, who is also the Supreme Commander of the Armed Forces, on the occasion of the country’s 73rd Independence Day celebration on Thursday.

Lieutenant Col Thaiba Simon and Major Tasou Prau, both belonging to Poumai Naga tribe from Senapati district, were conferred the awards for their outstanding and gallant role during operations in Jammu & Kashmir.

Major Prau of the Jammu And Kashmir Rifles/3rd Battalion of the Rashtriya Rifles Army is among the eight Army officers chosen for Bar To Sena Medals (gallantry). A resident of Tunggam village of the hill district, Major Prau will be receiving this award for the second time.

Meanwhile, Lieutenant Col Simon, a resident of Thingba Khullen village, is from the 1st Battalion of the Parachute Regiment (Special Forces) of the Army. He is among the 90 army officers selected for the Sena Medal (gallantry).

Also Read: PHOTOS: How Manipur kids braved rain, mud to celebrate 73rd I-Day

Sena Medal (gallantry) award is given in recognition for acts of exceptional devotion to duty or courage, generally quantified by effective neutralisation or killing or overcoming of enemy in a combat contest.

Of the 132 awards, two are Kirti Chakras, one Vir Chakra, 14 Shaurya Chakras, eight Bar to Sena Medals (Gallantry), 90 Sena Medals (Gallantry), five Nao Sena Medals (Gallantry), seven Vayu Sena Medals (Gallantry) and five Yudh Seva Medals.

The medals will be conferred to the recipients on a separate investiture ceremony, sometime in February or March next year by respective GOC-in-C of 8 Army Command.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment