Imphal: Manipur Congress on Wednesday released a list of four more candidates for the upcoming Manipur state elections.

Among the four candidates, former Naga People’s Front (NPF) leader Wairok Morung Makunga of Tengnoupal (ST) constituency will be up against Dangsawa Korungthang Maring of the NPF and BJP MLA Letpao Haokip.

Makunga joined the Congress on Wednesday after he resigned from the NPF following being denied a party ticket. 

The other three Congress candidates are Arimbam Pramodini Devi of Keishamthong AC, Rajkumar Priyobarta Singh of Wangkhei AC and Birla Haobijam of Thanga AC.

On Tuesday, the Congress had named 10 candidates in the second list for the state polls.

Former minister Ningthoujam Biren Singh and BJP MLA Pukhrem Sharatchandra Singh who had joined the Congress are among the 10 candidates featured in the second list.

Altogether, the Opposition Congress has so far named 54 out of the 60 candidates for the upcoming Manipur assembly elections. On January 22, the party released its first list of 40 candidates, including former chief minister and CLP leader Okram Ibobi Singh and three women candidates.

Meanwhile, the Republican Party of India (Athawale) has also released the names of five candidates in the first list for the 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly polls. Former BJP leader Dr Nimaichand Luwang will be contesting from Wangkhem AC of Thoubal district.

The other four candidates are Khagokpam Khamba Singh of Khurai AC, Mongjam Poireihenba Meetei of Lamlai AC, Maheshwar Thounaojam of Keishamthong AC and Laitonjam Brojen Singh of Oinam AC.

The first phase of Manipur elections will be held on February 27 across 38 constituencies. The second phase of polls for the remaining 22 constituencies is on March 3. The counting of votes and results declaration on March 10.

Also read: Priyanka Gandhi slams Sitharaman for ‘UP-type’ remark

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment