Manipur lockdown: More activities allowed in 7 districts under curfew. See details
Credit: EastMojo image

Imphal: In view of the surge in COVID-19 cases in Manipur, the state government on Monday announced an extension to the ongoing curfew restrictions in the entire valley, including two hill districts, with effect from May 18 till May 28.

As per the order, the curfew restrictions will be enforced in the districts of Imphal West, Imphal East, Bishnupur, Thoubal, Kakching, and hill districts of Churachandpur and Ukhrul in view of the exponential increase in the number of infections in these seven districts with limited activities to mitigate the hardships of the public.

What’s permitted during the lockdown?

1.      All healthcare facilities, including animal healthcare, hospitals, clinics, nursing homes and movement of healthcare workers

2.      All pharmacies, including those selling veterinary medicines

3.      All persons going for COVID-19 vaccination, COVID-19 testing and medical emergencies are exempted

4.      All employees and personal staff working in media, power, fire service, PHED, CAFPD, home, health, relief &DM, forest, environment & climate change, finance and treasuries and police departments and district administration are exempted (all other offices to remain closed)

5.      Only goods vehicles, including those carrying construction materials, oxygen supply-related vehicles, LPG and Oil tankers and vehicles of other essential services like power supply, fire service, water supply, waste/garbage clearance, public distribution system, medical/COVID-19 services, electronic and print media, internet & telecom service providers and vehicles of personnel of department/organisations permitted to be functional

6.      Opening of petrol pumps and LPG outlets and movement of staff of IOCL will continue to be permitted

7.      Imphal Airport shall remain open and movement of staff and passengers will continue to be permitted

8.      Hotels for lodging will be allowed to remain open with minimum staff. Restaurants to remain closed

9.      Child protection services (orphanages, children homes, observation homes, etc)

10.  Home delivery service under ICDS/ICPS (supplementary nutrition for children, pregnant & lactating mothers)

11.  Home delivery of various goods and services (food items, vegetables, groceries, medicines, etc) including e-commerce platforms

12.  Banking services with limited staff on Monday, Wednesday and Friday from 10 am to 2:30 pm for urgent government and non-government transactions only

13.  ATM services, including refilling of cash in ATMs, are allowed

14.  Sale of fish feed, animal feed, milk and milk products, fish, poultry and poultry products from 7 am to 2 pm for purchase by locals

15.  Postal services with limited staff on Monday, Wednesday and Friday from 10 am to 2:30 pm dispose of time-bound works, including delivery of medicines and medical equipment

Additional permissions and restrictions:

1.      Opening of local vegetable vendors from 7 am to 10 am for purchase by the locals on May 20, 23, and 26. The vegetable vendors should be seated at least 6 feet away from one another and should wear a mask at all times.

2.      Only one out of three grocery shops of the total shops/vendors in one location shall be allowed to open on a rotational basis from 7 am to 10 am on May 20, 23, and 26. If the shops or vendors are located in congested rows (on major roads like National Highways both sides may open), then only alternate rows shall be allowed to open. The queue system should be adopted by all shops and vendors.

3.      Strict ban on vehicular movement continues even during 7 am to 10 am.

4.      Three Ima Keithels, its adjoining markets and the local markets at Khurai Lamlong, Andro parking, Lambulane, Kongba, Pishumthong, Kwakeithel, Nagamapal, Singjamei Bazaar, Wahengbam Leikai and other major markets in other districts shall remain closed.

However, for the other nine districts with no curfew restrictions, the state government has laid out additional guidelines:

1.      Residents of the nine districts with no curfew (Senapati, Kangpokpi, Kamjong, Tengnoupal, Chandel, Pherzawl, Noney, Tamenglong and Jiribam)  should not be allowed to travel to the seven districts (Imphal West, Imphal East, Bishnupur, Thoubal, Kakching, Churachandpur and Ukhrul) where curfew has been imposed.

2.      Residents of the seven districts where curfew has been imposed should not be allowed to enter the other nine districts.

3.      IEC activities to constantly remind the public of the need to strictly follow COVID-19 Appropriate Behaviour should be taken up vigorously.

4.      Villages/Leikais without COVID-19 cases should be encouraged to display “My village/leikai is Corona free” at the entrance of the village/Leikai.

5.      Deputy commissioners should constantly monitor the spread of the infection in the district and areas within the district.

The state government also instructed the deputy commissioners and superintendent of police of the respective districts to take necessary action to implement the orders effectively.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment