The revamped Rangiya station in Assam Credit: Twitter

Guwahati: The Northeast Frontier Railway (NFR) is on an overhauling spree, with its ‘soft upgrade to stations’ initiative.

Under the project, NF Railway plans to go for a major beautification of five stations — Guwahati, Rangiya and Tinsukia new junction in Assam, and Siliguri junction and New Alipurduar railway station in West Bengal.

Under ‘soft upgrade to stations’ initiative, NF Railway is beautifying railway stations; seen in picture: New Tinsukia Junction in Assam

The stations in Assam have already been enhanced, while Siliguri and Alipurduar station will be completed in a couple of months, informed Subhanan Chanda, chief public relations officer of NF Railway.

Under the initiative, said Chanda, “modern and airport like facilities” have been put in place in the railway stations, along with VIP lounges, improved waiting rooms and retiring rooms. The facades of the railway stations along with the concourse and parking lots have also been transformed.

The revamped Guwahati railway station in Assam

Chanda added that similar beautification is also going on in other places, but it’s being done locally.

Also Read: Zubeen Garg sets the bar high for Assamese film promotion

Tweeting about the same, NF Railway said, “NF Railway strives to serve its users better. To make our passengers feel good, beautification of our stations with provision of modern passenger amenities is our continuous endeavor.”

NF Railway has also decided to install monumental Indian flags at important stations over the zone. Hundred-ft-tall flags will be provided at stations located in the state capital, district headquarters and places having historical/tourist importance.

NFR has already installed a 100-ft-high monumental flag in Guwahati and New Jalpaiguri railway stations, and 39 more stations have been selected for installation of such flags during the current financial year.

A monumental Indian flag installed at Guwahati railway station in Assam

NF Railway has currently identified seven stations in Katihar division, four stations in Alipurduar division, 10 stations in Rangiya division, 12 stations in Lumding division, and five stations in Tinsukia division. The important stations include Kishanganj, Darjeeling, New Coochbehar, Alipurduar Junction, Kokrajhar, New Bongaigaon, Barpeta Road, Goalpara Town, North Lakhimpur, Dekargaon, Naharlagun, Kamakhya, Agartala, Udaipur, Dimapur, Silchar, Karimganj, New Haflong, New Tinsukia Junction, Dibrugarh, and Jorhat Town, among others.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment