The Congress wants to leave only 38 seats for its alliance partners

Guwahati: Hectic lobbying and deliberations have intensified in New Delhi following the release of the first list of candidates by the Congress for the forthcoming Parliamentary polls in Assam. In fact, the party is all set release its second list of candidates for the state very shortly.

In a list containing the names of five candidates, the Assam Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) has nominated sitting MPs Gaurav Gogoi and Sushmita Dev from Kaliabor and Silchar constituencies, respectively.

The APCC has also decided to field Swarup Das from Karimganj, Sushanta Borgohain from Jorhat and former Union minister Paban Singh Ghatowar from Dibrugarh Parliamentary constituency.

At present, the Congress has three MPs in the Lok Sabha. Besides Dev from Silchar and Gogoi from Kaliabor, the party has Biren Singh Engti as a member of Parliament from the autonomous district (Diphu) constituency. However, there appears to be some uncertainty with respect to according a party ticket to Engti this time around.

There are also differences of opinion among the top Congress leaders and party workers with respect to the seven Parliamentary seats of Nagaon, Lakhimpur, Karimganj, Dhubri, Barpeta, Mangaldoi, and Jorhat.

The general elections in Assam will be held in three phases on April 11, 18, and 23. The counting of votes will be held on May 23 along with rest of the country.

During the first phase on April 11, polling will be held in five Parliamentary constituencies — Dibrugarh, Lakhimpur, Jorhat, Tezpur, and Kaliabor. The second phase on April 18 will be held for five more Parliamentary Constituencies — Karimganj, Silchar, Autonomous District (Diphu), Mangaldoi, and Nagaon. The third phase on April 23 will be conducted in four other constituencies — Dhubri, Kokrajhar, Barpeta, and Gauhati.

According to the state election department, the number of polling stations across the state is 28,143.

This time, the first phase of the LS polls will be held before Rongali Bihu while the remaining two phases would be conducted after the festival. The last general election of 2014 was also held in three phases. However, two phases were held before Bihu while the remaining phase was conducted after the festival.

Leave a comment

Leave a comment