GANGTOK: The Sikkim government formally declared six districts through a gazette notification coming into force from December 21. The two new districts are Soreng (formerly part of West Sikkim) and Pakyong (formerly part of East Sikkim.

The four existing districts have also undergone nomenclature change and North Sikkim district will now be called Mangan; West Sikkim district will be Gyalshing, East Sikkim district will now be Gangtok district and South Sikkim will be Namchi district.

The two new districts were formed as part of the Sikkim Reorganization of Districts Act 2021 passed by the Sikkim Legislative Assembly on December 9 having received the assent of the Governor.

A state government notification said the Act was passed, “to strengthen the governance and administration in view of the growing population that has increased manifold over the years posing new challenges for smooth functioning of the administration, specially the public services sectors such as emergency responses, disaster management, law and order, doorstep government and the like.”

Pakyong district

The new Pakyong district will include three subdivisions, namely Pakyong, Rongli and Rangpo.

Pakyong is the biggest subdivision with 6 revenue circles, including Pakyong, Dikling-Pacheykhani, Aho-Senti, Tareythang-Bering, Machong and Amba-Taza.

Rongli subdivision will include three revenue circles, including Rongli, Subaneydara and Rhenock.

Rangpo subdivision includes two revenue circles – Duga and West Pandam.

The boundaries of Pakyong district will be the Reserve Forest Bhutan boundary in East, Teesta River and Rani Khola in West, Tak Chen Chu River in North and Reshi Khola and Rangpo Khola in South.

Soreng district

The newly formed Soreng district has been carved out of the previous West Sikkim district, and will have two subdivisions – Mangalbarey and Soreng.

Mangalbarey will have four revenue circles – Rinchenpong, Kaluk, Mangalbaria, and Kamling. Soreng sub-division includes seven revenue circles – Arubotey, Chakung, Zoom, Soreng, Okhrey, Dodak and Sombaria.

The boundaries of Soreng district will include Rangit River and Chubbatti Kholsa in East, Rammam River and Indo-Nepal border in West, Rangsang Kholsa and Rhododendron Sanctuary in North and Rammam River in South.

Gangtok district

Gangtok district has been divided into two subdivisions – Gangtok and Rabdang. Gangtok is divided into 9 revenue circles – Gangtok station, Sichey (Old GMC), Chandmari (Old GMC), Sichey Circle, Lingdok circle, Ranka circle, Rumtek circle, Samdong circle, and Naitam circle.

Rabdang circle includes 3 revenue circles – Rabdang, Khamdong and Tumin circles.

The boundaries of Gangtok district will be Reserve Forest Assam/ Tak Chen Chu River in the East, River Teesta in the West, Bagey Khola in North, and Rani Khola in South.

Gyalshing District

Gyalshing, which previously served as the district capital for West Sikkim, has now been named after the district. It will have three subdivisions Gyalshing, Dentam, and Yuksom subdivisions.

Gyalshing subdivision will have three revenue circles Darap, Lingchom, and Gyalshing. Dentam subdivision will have four revenue circles Radhu-Khandu, Dentam, Bermoik, and Gyaten. Yuksom subdivision will have Gerathang, Tashiding, Dhupidara and Thingling revenue circles.

The boundaries of Gyalshing district are Rangit Khola and Rongdong Chhu (South district boundary) in East, International boundary of India and Nepal in the West, Rukel Chhu (North district boundary) in North and Rangsang Khola, Rhododendron Sanctuary (Soreng District Boundary) in South.

Mangan district

Mangan district has been divided into four subdivisions Mangan, Kabi, Dzongu and Chungthang. Mangan subdivision includes Singhik-Mangan revenue circle, Kabi subdivision includes Phensong and Namok, Dzongu subdivision includes Passingdong, Hee-Gyathang and Gor revenue circles. Chungthang subdivision includes Chungthang revenue circle but extends towards Lachung and Lachen as well.

The boundaries of thr district extends till International boundary of Tibet (China) in North, East and West. With the western border of Mangan even touching Nepal. In the South, the borders of the Mangan district end at North of the line of Dikchu Chhu, Ratey Chhu, Rongyung Chhu and Rukel Chhu.

Namchi district

Namchi district will have four subdivisions – Namchi, Jorethang, Ravangla and Yangang. Namchi subdivision has 12 revenue circles, Jorethang and Ravangla has four circles each while Yangang has three revenue circles.

The boundaries of Namchi district are River Teesta in East, River Rangeet in West, Rambang Khola in North and Ranglu Khola in South.

Sikkim Cricket body chief is new manager of India U19 World Cup Team

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply