Gangtok: East Sikkim district of Sikkim will be bifurcated to create the Himalayan state’s newest and fifth district — Pakyong.

Currently, Sikkim has four districts –North Sikkim, East Sikkim, West Sikkim and South Sikkim.

The new district will comprise three sub-divisions of the existing East Sikkim district. They are Pakyong, Rangpo and Rongli.

The new district will include both the Greenfield Airport in Pakyong and the upcoming Majhitar Railway Station. Along with aerial and rail connectivity, four National Highways will also fall in the new district, including NH-10, NH-717A, NH-717B and Rolep-Menla National Highway.

The area of the new district will be 404 sq m, including 175 sq m of Pakyong, 216 sq m of Rongli and 13 sq m of Rangpo.

The district formation committee for conversion of the three subdivisions into Pakyong district is being headed by Namcheybong MLA Em Prasad Sharma.

The committee held a press conference on Monday to devise a proposal for the district. The move came after the Sikkim Legislative Assembly passed the resolution for the creation of two new districts, Soreng and Pakyong, during its budget session on June 14 and 15.

The new district will have a population of 74,583 people as per 2011 census with 36,392 people from Pakyong, 27,741 from Rongli and 10,450 from Rangpo subidivision. Five Assembly constituencies — West Pendam, Rhenock, Chujachen, Gnathang-Machong, and Namcheybong — will be a part of the new district, as per official data.

There will be 11 revenue circles in all — six from Pakyong, three from Rongli and two from Rangpo — and 51 revenue blocks from 23 in Pakyong, 19 in Rongli and nine in Rangpo.

Two ADC circles will also been created — one in Pakyong and the other in Gangtok.

As many as 27 BDO blocks and Gram Panchayat units will also be included with nine from Pakyong, seven from Rongli, four each from Rhenock and Duga and three from Parakha.

Currently, Rangpo Nagar Panchayat is the only municipality that exists in the proposed district. Singtam District Hospital will be the sole district hospital in the district for now.

Also read: Sikkim: CM Golay takes a dig at Bhaichung, says ‘stupid’ to question hospital construction

Four police stations — Rangpo, Pakyong, Rongli and Rhenock — will be included in the proposed district, with three border check posts in Rangpo, Reshi and Lingsey and fire stations in Pakyong, Rangpo and Rhenock.

The existing primary health centres of Rangpo, Pakyong, Machong and Rongli will be included along with the Rhenock community health centre.

Two colleges will fall in the new district — Rhenock Degree College and Sikkim Manipal Institute of Technology (SMIT) in Majhitar. Along with these, 10 senior secondary schools at Rhenock, Chujachen, Tikalal Niroula, Rangpo, Dikling, Machong, Rorathang, Mamring, Pachey and St. Xavier’s School in Pakyong will be a part of the proposed district, said official data.

Leave a comment

Leave a comment