NASA invites netizens to participate in their Lucy mission, which will send the first spacecraft to study the Trojan asteroids. The mission will explore rocky terrains and study the beginnings of our solar system, sharing the orbit with Jupiter, around the Sun.

Lucy is all set for liftoff at 5:34 am ET (09:34 UTC and 3:04 pm IST) on Saturday on a United Launch Alliance Atlas V rocket from the Space Launch Complex-41 on Cape Canaveral Space Force Station in Florida.

The live coverage of the event will commence at 2.30 pm Indian Standard Time (5am ET) and netizens can watch the Live streaming of the launch here on YouTube.

Lucy Mission

Referred to as the time capsules from the birth of our Solar System more than 4 billion years ago, the swarms of Trojan asteroids associated with Jupiter are thought to be remnants of the primordial material that formed the outer planets.

According to NASA, the Trojans orbit the Sun in two loose groups, with one group leading ahead of Jupiter in its path, the other trailing behind. Clustered around the two Lagrange points equidistant from the Sun and Jupiter, the Trojans are stabilized by the Sun and its largest planet in a gravitational balancing act. These primitive bodies hold vital clues to deciphering the history of the solar system.

Lucy will be the first space mission to study the Trojans. The mission takes its name from the fossilized human ancestor (called “Lucy” by her discoverers) whose skeleton provided unique insight into humanity’s evolution. Lucy mission is expected to revolutionize our knowledge of planetary origins and the formation of the solar system.

Also read: NASA: Be a part of Lucy mission to Trojan asteroids, here’s how



Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment