Kohima: Ahead of the 2023 polls, the state government has announced the creation of three new districts, namely Tseminyu, Niuland and Chumoukedima. This comes less than a year after the 12th district of the state—Noklak—was inaugurated.

The state government’s decision follows the cabinet meeting on Saturday, which was rescheduled from December 16 due to the protests in Eastern Nagaland against the recent killings in the Mon district.

Nagaland Legislator R Khing, lone MLA from the Rengma Naga tribe, which predominantly occupies Tseminyu, said that the up-gradation of the Tseminyu sub-division under Kohima district to that of a district is a ‘historic day.’

As Tseminyu becomes the 13th District of Nagaland, he thanked Nagaland chief minister and cabinet ministers on behalf of the Rengma Naga tribe for fulfiling their long-cherished dream.

Recently, the Rengma Nagas had intensified their demand for a separate district, the latest being a 50-km walkathon from Tseminyu to the state capital in Kohima.

Legislator Jacob Zhimomi also informed that Niuland and Chumoukedima, both under the Dimapur district, will also become separate districts.

“Delighted to share that Niuland and Chumukedima under my assembly constituency has been created as a new districts today by the state cabinet. Thankful and grateful to HCM @Neiphiu_Rio ji.The best Christmas gift ever!” he tweeted.

With the addition of the three new districts, Nagaland will now have 15 districts.

However, the state government is yet to issue an official notification.

Thousands march in Nagaland capital, demand justice, repeal of AFSPA

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment