Imphal: The National People’s Party (NPP) on Wednesday has extended its support to the Bharatiya Janata Party-led government in Manipur. The NPP has emerged as the second-largest party after winning seven seats in the recently-concluded Manipur elections.

The development comes days after the new Manipur government was formed following Chief Minister N Biren Singh along with five other elected legislators having sworn in at the Raj Bhavan.

A letter of support was submitted to the state Governor by the seven elected MLAs of the NPP.

“We, the members of the National People’s Party (NPP) to the 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly would like to extend support to the Bharatiya Janata Party led government in the state as Alliance partner of NEDA and NDA,” stated the NPP in a letter of support.

The letter of support was also duly signed by the seven NPP MLAs, including N Kayisii, the NPP legislature party leader. The other MLAs are Khuraijam Loken Singh, Irengbam (O) Nalini Devi, Thongam Shanti Singh, Mayanglambam Rameshwar Singh, Janghemlung Panmei and Sheikh Noorul Hassan.

Earlier, the Janata Dal (United), Naga People’s Front (NPF), Kuki People’s Alliance (KPA) and one independent MLA Nishikant Sapam had extended their support to the BJP government in Manipur.

In 2017, the NPP and NPF were the two alliance parties in the BJP-led coalition government in Manipur. However, ahead of the 2022 polls, the ties between the two political parties soured.

Earlier, on the counting of votes, CM Biren Singh had stated that the BJP will align with like-minded parties, however, he had ruled out further alliance with the NPP.

Also read | Newly-formed Manipur government to conduct 1st assembly session on March 24

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment