Imphal: The United Naga Council (UNC) on Monday expressed appreciation and welcomed the recent formation of the Core Committee on Naga Political Issue by the Nagaland government under the leadership of chief minister Neiphiu Rio.

In a press release, the UNC, an apex Naga body based in Manipur, stated that the formation of the Core Committee on Naga Political Issue is to resolve and to strengthen the ongoing negotiations between the Government of India (GOI) and the National Socialist Council of Nagaland (NSCN).

“We hope and earnestly pray that this core committee will be able to intervene and forge the long and frequent stalemate that is taking place in the negotiation between the two parties,” said UNC president S Kho John in a statement.

It is our sincere believe that the honourable members and representatives of the different political parties presenting in the core committee will put their best efforts in the interest of the entire Nagalim, with the spirit and soul of the uniqueness of the Naga history and situations and in tune with the agreed Historic Framework Agreement signed on August 3, 2015 in New Delhi to co-exist peacefully as two separate entities, it said.

“We are fully convinced and confident that the core committee members will look beyond their personal interests and groups and politically respond to the call of the Nagas,” it added.

Also read: Manipur: 3 active militants of PLA arrested in Chandel district

The Naga body further put a proposal that an elected member, each from Assam, Arunachal Pradesh and Manipur, be included in the core committee for better coordination, only if the criteria of the select committee permit, it added.

The Naga body also urged the committee to reschedule the meeting which was earlier scheduled for June 19 at the earliest and back up the ongoing Indo-Naga talk process.

Recently, the Nagaland government constituted a Core Committee on Naga Political Issue (NPI).

The committee, to be headed by Nagaland chief minister Neiphiu Rio as chairman with DyCM and Leader of BJP Legislature Party Y Patton and Leader of Opposition TR Zeliang of NPF as co-convenors, would also include four members each from Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP), BJP, Naga People’s Front (NPF) and an independent MLA.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply