Manipur govt approves 60 schools in 2nd phase of 'School Fagathansi Mission'
Manipur education minister S Rajen Singh

Imphal: Manipur education minister S Rajen Singh on Saturday announced the names of 60 schools for the 60 assembly constituencies of the state for implementation of the second phase of ‘School Fagathansi Mission’.

Implementation of the second phase includes the development of infrastructure, civil works like repairing and renovation of classrooms/ construction of toilet blocks & additional classrooms, provision of dual desks and benches, arrangement of posting of teachers, etc. An order has been issued in this regard.

Announcing the names of the schools, minister Rajen said that after the successful implementation of the first phase, the second phase of School Fagathansi Mission is being initiated. He said that the achievements shown during the first phase have given hope for the successful mass enrolment of students to government schools.

He said that due to the COVID-19 pandemic and its impact on society, many sectors are being affected. The pace of the development of government schools could have been speeded up if the pandemic did not occur.”

“A major change can be seen in the improvement of government schools during recent years. The percentage of enrolment to government schools has increased unexpectedly. In this trend, the number of school dropouts will reduce further,” he added.

Also read: Tokyo Olympics: Manipur’s Nilakanta Sharma to play for Indian men’s hockey squad

Rajen also showed photographs of completed school buildings/ blocks and other infrastructure which had been taken up under the first phase to the media.

The minister also appealed people to cooperate with the government and education department while implementing the second phase.

Distribution of items including school uniforms, utensils, school bags and sports materials in the second phase will be started soon, he added.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply