Manipur: BJP’s Y Erabot Singh sworn-in as MLA of Wangkhei AC
BJP leader Yumkham Erabot Singh
YouTube Poster

Imphal: Yumkham Erabot Singh of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) took oath as a member of the Manipur Legislative Assembly from the 15-Wangkhei Assembly constituency in Imphal on Wednesday.

Manipur Assembly speaker Yumnam Khemchand administered the oath of office to the new MLA in the presence of chief minister N Biren Singh at the Conference Hall of the Manipur Legislative Assembly Secretariat.

MLA M Rameshwor and MLA Y Antas Khan also attended the ceremony.

Erabot Singh, who contested on a BJP ticket in the last state assembly election in 2017, had secured 12,417 votes and came second in the election. With 16,753 votes, the then Congress candidate Okram Henry Singh was declared as a winner.

Also Read: Manipur HC rules election of ‘Congress MLA’ Okram Henry ‘void’

However, following an election petition filed by Erabot contending that Henry filed a ‘false affidavit’ to the Election Commission, a single bench of the Manipur High Court Justice MV Muralidaran on April 15, 2021, declared the election of Henry as ‘null and void’.

Later, the Court declared Erabot as an elected MLA of Wangkhei AC of Imphal East district.

It is also worth mentioning that by the time of the HC verdict, Henry had resigned from the Congress and joined the BJP as a minister of social welfare last September.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply