Tawang: At the 10th Anniversary of the North East Leaders Connect meet in Tawang, Arunachal Pradesh, held from October 31 to November 1, the core members adopted the ‘Tawang Declaration’.

The declaration states, “North East Leaders Connect believes that northeast India is endowed with tremendous natural beauty and geo-strategic importance. The region has inherent potential, particularly in the fields of tourism, organic agriculture, horticulture, food processing, handicrafts, music, sports, and IT-enabled services. It is important to harness the region’s abundant natural resources in a sustainable and scientific manner while keeping the local ecology in mind. Achieving this goal will ensure a stronger, resilient, and progressive India.”

Guided by the principal understanding that the youth is the future and key to ensuring any sustainable intervention, North East Leaders Connect will continue to bring together various young minds and leaders. They will be provided a platform to network, be mentored, and collaborate towards building a vibrant, dynamic, and a cohesive North East.

The founding members of the NELC are Hon’ble Union Minister of Law and Justice Kiren Rijiju, Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Pema Khandu, Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad Sangma, Member of Parliament Gaurav Gogoi, MLA and Advisor to Government of Nagaland (Information Technology and Communication, New & Renewable Energy, Science & Technology) Mmhonlumo Kikon, Member of Manipur Legislative Assembly R.K. Imo Singh, Member of Parliament Sushmita Dev, Leaders Connect chair & India Football Icon Bhaichung Bhutia, Advisor to Chief Minister of Nagaland and Associate Vice-President of Athletics Federation of India (AFI) Abu Metha, Zoram Mega Food Pvt. Ltd. founder Dr. Lalrin Tluanga Jahau, Commissioner of Income Tax IRS G. Gaichanglungliu Kamei, YouthNet Chair and founder Hekani Jakhalu, Eastern Sentinel Founding Editor/Publisher Jarpum Gamlin, EastMojo Founder & Editor-in-Chief Karma Paljor, Advisor Mayfair Hotels & Director Right Clique Hospitality Bjorn De Niese, Managing Director o, Centre Point Group Enterprise Larsing Ming Sawyan, Founder & Director of Edu Center Pvt Ltd. Lezo Putsure, Founder of EastMojo, Tattva Creations & Brahmaputra Valley Film Festival Tanushree Hazarika.

Also read: Experts hail India’s announcement to achieve net zero carbon emission by 2070

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply