Why delimitation is perceived as a threat to tribals in Tripura
According to sources, after delimitation, the representation of the tribals in the state assembly which is around 33% of the state, assembly might dwindle further.

Agartala: The principal opposition party of Tripura—TIPRA Motha—has formed a six-member Central Working Committee (CWC) to take key party decisions on Saturday. As many as seven senior leaders were inducted in the committee, including former Chairman Pradyot Kishore Manikya Debbarman. 

A notification signed by the party president, BK Hrangkhwal confirmed the appointment. 

Sharing his appointment notification on X, formerly known as Twitter, Debbarman thanked the party leadership for entrusting him with the responsibility.

“I am indeed honoured and humbled. I will do my duties to strengthen and constitute the party from primary, regional, block, district and central committee in the next few weeks”, his post reads.

The committee comprises five more members apart from Debbarman: Party President BK Hrangkhwal, TTAADC Chairman Jagadish Debbarma, LOP Animesh Debbarma, former Minister Mevar Kumar Jamatia and MLA Brishaketu Debbarma. 

The Central Working Committee came into shape shortly after the two senior members of TIPRA broke away from the party, citing the whole shambolic state of the organisation. 

Dear Reader,
Over the past four years, EastMojo revolutionised the coverage of Northeast India through our sharp, impactful, and unbiased coverage. And we are not saying this: you, our readers, say so about us. Thanks to you, we have become Northeast India’s largest, independent, multimedia digital news platform.
Now, we need your help to sustain what you started.
We are fiercely protective of our ‘independent’ status and would like to remain so: it helps us provide quality journalism free from biases and agendas. From travelling to the remotest regions to cover various issues to paying local reporters honest wages to encourage them, we spend our money on where it matters.
Now, we seek your support in remaining truly independent, unbiased, and objective. We want to show the world that it is possible to cover issues that matter to the people without asking for corporate and/or government support. We can do it without them; we cannot do it without you.
Support independent journalism, subscribe to EastMojo.

Thank you,
Karma Paljor
Editor-in-Chief, eastmojo.com

Sridam Debbarma and Dinesh Debbarma, who were with the TIPRA Motha, will now work to revive the Tipraland State Party.

The formation of the new committee also bears significance as it marked the return of Pradyot Kishore Debbarman into the party’s decision-making body after a short hiatus. Apart from being a member of the Central Working Committee, he is also an elected member of the TTAADC from Takarjala assembly constituency.

Also Read | Split in TIPRA Motha? Here’s what Pradyot said

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment