Sunil Bansal appointed BJP's National General Secretary
Representational image

Agartala: The ruling BJP is likely to announce its candidate list for the forthcoming by-elections in four assembly constituencies of the state on June 2 next.

With less than a month left for the by-elections, it is being perceived as semi-finals by the political parties in the run up to the massive electoral battle in 2023.

The BJP, however, seems to be very confident of scoring 4-0.

Party sources said, “The party top brass has almost finalized the names of candidates and as soon as the party high command gives its green light to the proposed names, the list will be made public. The time is very limited; it is expected that on June 2, a formal announcement will be made from the party’s end.”

A top party source said, “As per the tentative candidate list, senior BJP leader Dr Ashok Sinha will be fighting the elections from the crucial 6-Agartala assembly constituency. Among the four constituencies, 6-Agartala assumes significance as BJP sees a tough challenger in the form of Sudip Roy Barman. So selection of an eligible candidate for the constituency took a little longer. But things are sorted now.”

In other three seats, party sources said Dr Tamojit Nath has been selected for Jubarajnagar constituency located under North Tripura district. Sampa Das, chairperson of local Panchayat Samity, to be fielded by the saffron party at Surma constituency of Dhalai district.

Meanwhile, Chief Minister Manik Saha will be fighting from his home constituency 8-Bordowali.

Before the formal announcement, a meeting of the party’s core committee is scheduled on May 30 where final approval will be given to the shortlisted names.

“Given the present situation, chances are rare to make any changes in the tentative list,” said a top BJP leader.

Govt withdraws advisory against sharing photocopy of Aadhaar with entities

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply