Adequate measures to be in place for peaceful bypolls in Tripura: CEO Kiran Gitte
Chief Electoral Officer Kiran Gitte addressing a press conference at Civil Secretariat.

Agartala: A day after the Election Commission of India officially announced the dates for by-polls to four assembly constituencies of Tripura, Chief Electoral Officer Kiran Gitte said that the State Election Commission has taken all the necessary measures to ensure peaceful elections scheduled on June 23 next.

Addressing a press conference at Civil Secretariat on Thursday, Gitte said, “A total of 1,88,854 electorates are eligible to cast their votes in the poll-bound constituencies. The number of voters has been finalized as per the final electoral rolls published on January 1, 2022.”

According to the Chief Electoral Officer, the number of eligible female electorates has outnumbered men voters. There are altogether 93,567 male voters and the number of female voters stands at 95,283.

In both the city-based constituencies—6 Agartala and 8-Bordowali – the female electorates outnumbered the male. A total of 26,291 female voters are there against 25,344 male voters in 6-Agartala; while there are 24,373 female voters against 22,210 male voters at 8-Bordowali. In the other constituencies, the number of male voters is little more than female voters.  

According to the CEO, voter-wise. 6-Agartala assembly constituency under West Tripura district is the biggest constituency with a total of 51,639 voters registered under it. 8-Town Bardowali records the second-highest number of voters with 46,583 electorates, 46-Surma constituency has 47,289 voters and 57-Jubarajnagar has the lowest number of voters—43,373.

On the poll-related appointments, he said, Returning officers and Assistant Returning Officers have been appointed as per the ECI guidelines soon after the election dates were declared.  

“Commissioner Agartala Municipal Corporation is appointed as the Returning Officer for 6-Agartala assembly constituency, SDM Sadar has been designated as the RO for 8-Bordowali constituency. SDMs have been appointed as the ROs for Jubarajnagar and Surma assembly segment respectively,” said Gitte adding “The Model Code of Conduct has already come into force in the entire North District and Dhalai district, however, in the case of two constituencies of the city that is 6-Agartala and 8-Bordowali MCC restrictions are imposed within the areas of the constituencies only.”

On the security front, he said, “Adequate arrangements will be done. We have studied the nature of the constituencies going by the previous records of polls. All the important aspects such as polling percentage, poll-related violence etc. Based on that we shall install CCTVs and in almost 50 per cent polling stations, webcasting will be done,” he added.

He also informed the reporters that the DMs and SPs of the constituencies concerned are also assessing to single out booths that are critical, vulnerable or normal in terms of poll-related violence. “As the list gets prepared, the deployment of CAPF and state paramilitary forces will be done in accordance with that. We shall send our requisition to the authorities concerned as soon as the things get finalized here,” he added.      

The elections are scheduled for June 23 and the results will be declared on June 26. The entire process will be completed by June 28.

Also read: Tripura: By-polls to four vacant Assembly seats announced

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply