Agartala: The newly-sworn in cabinet members of Tripura were allocated their responsibilities on Wednesday. While Chief Minister Dr Manik Saha kept with him the important Home, Health and other significant departments, rest of the 11 ministers got their previous positions back with minor reshuffle.

According to a notification issued by the department of GA (Confidential and Cabinet) , the Chief Minister kept with him the portfolios of Home (excluding jail and fire and Emergency Services), PWD, Industries and Commerce, General Administration, Election, all policies and departments that are not allotted to other ministers.

The notification undersigned by Chief Secretary Kumar Alok also added: “Deputy Chief Minister Jishnu DeV Varma has been given the responsibility of Power, Rural Development including Panchayat, Finance, and Planning and Coordination along with Statistics departments and Science, Technology and Environment.”

Senior Minister Narendra Chandra Debbarma retained his previous portfolios of Revenue and Forest departments. Minister Ratan Lal Nath has been assigned with the task to look after Higher and School Education, Law including Parliamentary Affairs departments.

Pranajit Singha Roy also gets charge of the significant departments like Agriculture, Transport and Tourism. Minister Manoj Kanti Deb got the charge of Food, Civil Supplies like his previous assignment but he lost the department of Industries and Commerce in lieu of Urban development.

The department of Urban Development was with Minister Santana Chakma who retained her job of Social Welfare and Social Education and got additional charge of Industries and Commerce department that excludes the handloom handicrafts and sericulture, Information Technology.

The departments of Jail, Fire and emergency Service, Welfare for Backward Classes and Minorities Communities have been awarded to Ramprasad Paul. Paul used to hold the department of Cooperative which has been given to newly-inducted minister Prem Kumar Reang. Reang also got the charge of the Fisheries department.

Minister Bhagaban Chandra Das has been given the charge of SC Welfare and ARDD department. Cabinet Spokesperson Sushanta Chowdhury has been awarded the portfolios of ICA, Youth Affairs and Sports and PWD (DWS).

Importantly, newly-inducted minister Rampada Jamatia has been given the portfolios of Tribal Welfare and Handloom, Handicrafts and Sericulture.

Also Read | Tripura hit by panic buying, seeks flight support for essential transit

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply