Jamatia allocates portfolios

Agartala: Purna Chandra Jamatia, the newly-elected Chief Executive Member (CEM) of the Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council (TTAADC) distributed portfolios to seven other executive council members. 

Jamatia kept finance, law, forest, science, technology and environment, general administration, etc. with him. Jamatia is in charge of nine departments in total. 

Executive member Animesh Debbarma will now be in charge of Agriculture and Horticulture and Industry and Tribal Welfare. Chitta Ranjan Debbarma will be in charge of Education and Works. 

Kamal Kalai will handle the Animal Resource Development and Health, Bhaba Ranjan Reang is now in charge of Land Revenue, Dolly Reang has Social Welfare and Social Education Department, Rajesh Tripura has Fisheries, and Suhel Debbarma will be in charge of the Department of Youth Affairs.

Also Read: TIPRA emerges as single-largest party, set to form tribal council

The CEM along with seven other executive members from the Tipraha Indigenous Progressive Regional Alliance (TIPRA) had sworn in on April 20 at Khumulwng, the TTAADC headquarters.

TIPRA and the Indigenous Nationalist Party of Twipra (INPT) alliance won 18 out of 28 seats of the TTAADC, while Tripura ruling BJP won nine seats in the recently-concluded elections. 

The TTAADC was constituted through a vote by secret ballot on January 15, 1982, and the elected members were sworn in on January 18, 1982. Subsequently, the Constitution of India was amended by a Bill, and it was unanimously passed on the floor of Parliament on August 23, 1984, for the introduction of the Sixth Schedule of the Constitution in India.

The TTAADC covers 7,132.56 sq km, around 70 per cent of the state’s geographical area. It is home to one-third of the state’s population. Speaking with reporters, CEM Purna Chandra Jamatia had said that he would focus on the development of the education, agriculture sector.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment