Agartala: After the conclusion of Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council (TTAADC) elections, 25 cases of violence have been filed across Tripura. Of these, 23 cases have been filed against Tipraha Indigenous Progressive Regional Alliance (TIPRA) supporters, said BJP state spokesperson Nabendu Bhattacharya.

The Tripura police have also filed one case each against CPIM and BJP supporters over post-poll violence.

Speaking at a press conference, Bhattacharya said that Tipra Motha’s chief Pradyot Kishore Deb Barman has no control over the supporters.

“The BJP wants the police to take appropriate action against the miscreants. However, Pradyot Kishore Deb Barman should give an explanation about the incident of terror because we also need to know what he means to his supporters,” Bhattacharya said.

He questioned why only the BJP is being targeted and the image of Maharaja Bir Bikram is being smashed by miscreants.

Tripura police have filed a total of 25 cases over post-poll violence

“Only the BJP office and the activists are being targeted. Why is no one attacking the opposition CPIM?” Bhattacharya questioned.

He also said that the CPIM had a culture of terrorising people after every election. However, after the 2018 elections, BJP came to power and the situation changed.

“There was no post-poll violence after the 2018 assembly elections because BJP wants to erase that culture from Tripura. After the ADC election, an atmosphere of terror has re-emerged. The CPIM is fueling the TIPRA supporters from behind,” Bhattacharya added.

He questioned the kind of loyalty supporters of TIPRA are showing by destroying the image of Maharaja Bir Bikram.

“There was a specific motive behind such dirty activities. A heinous conspiracy is going on to create unrest in the state. The supporters of TIPRA are the instigators behind the terror,” Bhattacharya added.

The TIPRA and Indigenous National Party of Twipra (INPT) had recorded a landslide victory in the tribal council elections held recently, winning 18 of the 28 seats for the 30-member council.

Meanwhile, TIPRA chairman Pradyot Kishore Deb Barman will take oath as the new chief executive member (CEM) of the TTAADC on April 20.

Also read: Tripura: Pradyot to take oath as tribal council CEM on April 20

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment