TIPRA chairman Pradyot Kishore Deb Barman

Agartala: A day after the 8th general election of the Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council (TTAADC), which registered a voter turnout of 85.14 per cent, Tipraha Indigenous Progressive Regional Alliance (TIPRA) chairman Pradyot Kishore Deb Barman on Wednesday sounded confident of his party securing ‘absolute majority’ to form the district council.

Responding to a question at a press conference, Deb Barman also ruled out the question of any post-poll alliance and said, “We are confident in the absolute majority in the council and there would be no need for any post poll alliance with any other political party. Our fight was everywhere against BJP and CPIM was nowhere in the poll.”

He also said that the voter’s turnout was possibly the highest in India in comparison to the ongoing elections in the state of Assam, West Bengal, Pondicherry and other states of India.

Deb Barman further alleged that attempts of massive malpractice were made across the state by the ruling BJP-IPFT supporters and in some places, voters were stopped from reaching polling stations to cast their votes.

“We strongly allege that in places where malpractice has been reported, the commission must review and conduct re-polling immediately. Malpractice was done in about 60-70 booths across the district council on Tuesday,” Deb Barman added.

The TIPRA chairman said he would write a letter to the state election commission demanding repolling in all those seats where malpractice was done during vote day as alleged by other political parties.

“Reports of clash and malpractice were made in places including Amtali-Golaghati, Takarjala and Budhjungnagar constituencies,” he said.

The TIPRA chairman also informed that he would meet DGP VS Yadav on Wednesday evening and discuss the poll violence and post-poll situation and seek his support to maintain law and order in the district council.

When questioned who would be the next chief executive member (CEM) of the TTAADC, Deb Barman said that the whole election was fought projecting his face and he would take charge as the head of the council when voted to power.

He also said that on April 10 counting will be done and it is reported that violence may take place in several areas of the ADC, adding, “I, as the chairman of TIPRA, would appeal the people to not resort to violence in any form and request the supporters to refrain from any such activities.”.

The voting started at 7 am in the morning and continued till late in the evening amid tight security across 1,244 polling stations.

Election was held in 28 elected seats of the 30-member district council. It was mainly contested between opposition CPIM, which was in power in the ADC for the past four terms, the ruling BJP-IPFT alliance which is now in power and TIPRA — a new alliance of most indigenous parties of Tripura headed by royal scion Pradyot Kishore Manikya Deb Barman.

Also read: Tripura CM Biplab Kumar Deb tests positive for COVID-19

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply