Itanagar: All the political parties of Arunachal Pradesh, including the BJP and Congress have resolved to work as a team to attain a permanent solution to the interstate boundary issue between Arunachal and Assam.

The political parties have also received the support of the Arunachal Indigenous Tribes Forum (AITF), a conglomerate of several community-based organisations of the state and the All Arunachal Pradesh Student’s Union (AAPSU).

The resolution was taken following a consultative meeting convened by the High Power Ministerial Committee (HPMC) for Arunachal-Assam interstate boundary at the Dorjee Khandu State Convention Centre here on Thursday.

Chairing the meeting, home minister Bamang Felix, who is also the chairman of the HPMC, informed the house that “the consultative meeting had been convened to create a road map that will guide the process of resolving the vexed interstate boundary issue with Assam.”

Arunachal shares around 804 km of the inter-state boundary with Assam.

Chief Minister Pema Khandu had earlier this month said that Assam and Arunachal have agreed in principle to sort out their inter-state boundary issues out-of-court.

Emphasizing the importance of the meeting, Felix said it will be instrumental in paving a way for an amicable and permanent solution to the interstate boundary issue, and appealed to the house present to rise above party lines and come together as Team Arunachal.

He further appealed to all to ensure that peace is maintained throughout the process of resolving the boundary dispute.

The home minister also informed that the HPMC will also convene a meeting with the district level committees on the matter after August 15.

Later, the house present accepted the HPMC proposal of taking the Supreme Court-appointed Local Committee’s recommendations as to the baseline for working out an amicable and permanent solution to the Arunachal-Assam boundary issue.

Earlier while taking part in the discussion, representatives of the political parties, AITF and AAPSU assured to extend all possible support to the HPMC so that the border dispute is resolved once and for all.

Among others, the meeting was attended by Arunachal Pradesh Congress Committee Nabam Tuki, BJP president Biyuram Wahge, National People’s Party vice-president Thangham Wangham, JD(U) secretary-general P Dolo, JD(S) president Rokom Apang, Peoples Party of Arunachal president Kaffa Bengia, AITF president Bengia Tolum and AAPSU president Hawa Bagang.

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment