Sikkim municipal elections
| PC: EastMojo image

Gangtok: The results for Sikkim Municipal Elections which took place on March 31 with 72% polling is being announced on Saturday.

In North Sikkim, Mangan Nagar Panchayat has 5 wards which had 82% voting. Of the five wards, Pentok ward stood uncontested with Norkit Lepcha as the winner.

Upper Mangan Bazar ward (ST), the winner is Ugen Palzor Kazi, who received 188 votes. In Power Colony ward (UR-W), the winner is Premkit Lepcha, who received 91 votes.

Rinzing Namgyal Marg ward (ST), the winner is Hangu Lachenpa, who received 168 votes. In Lower Mangan Bazar ward (UR-W), the winner is Tshering Doma, who received 215 votes.

In South Sikkim which had two urban local bodies of Namchi Municipal Council with 7 wards, three wards were won uncontested. The voting was conducted for Gangyap ward with Nima Choden Lepcha declared as winner with 368 votes.

Sabitri Tamang, winner of Upper Boomtar ward.
Pema Norbu Bhutia, winner of Upper Ghurpisey, Namchi.

For Upper Ghurpisey ward, Pema Norbu Bhutia was declared as the winner with 350 votes. In Dambudara, Sailendra Chettri was declared as winner with 468 votes, and in Upper Boomtar ward, Sabitri Tamang was declared the winner with 384 votes.

In Jorethang-Nayabazar Nagar Panchayat, for Trikaleshwar ward, Manjari Rai was declared as the winner with 355 votes. In Daragaon, Pabitra Kumar Sharma was declared as the winner with 626 votes and Samten Moktan (Tamang) won Majhigaon ward with 903 votes. In Naya-Bazar ward, Uma Sunar (Biswakarma) with 503 votes.

Manjari Rai, winner of Tirkaleshwar ward, Nayabazar-Jorethang Nagar Panchayat.
Pabitra Kumar Sharma, winner of Daragaon ward.

In Namchi Municipal Council the total voter turnout was 70.87%. Similarly, for Nayabazar-Jorethang Nagar Panchayat the total voter turnout was 75.58%.

In West Sikkim, Gyalshing Nagar Panchayat had 4 wards up for election with Kyongsha ward being declared as uncontested. For Byadong ward, Praveen Darjee won with 94 votes. The Naya Bazar ward was won by Laki Doma Bhutia won with 208 votes. Central Gyalshing ward was won by Khina Maya Tewari with 284 votes and in New Gyalshing ward, Devendra Prasad Sharma won with 282 votes.

Winners of Gyalshing Nagar Panchayat.

In East District, Bojoghari 2nd Mile ward under Gangtok Municipal Corporation was won by Palzor Lepcha with 667 votes. For Burtuk ward, Nell Bahadur Chettri won with 1068 votes.

Nell Bahadur Chettri won Burtuk ward.
Winner of Lower Sichey, Kala Rai.

In Lower Sichey, Kala Rai won with 1179 votes and Chungkela Lepcha won Chandmari ward with 1050 votes.

Chungkela Lepcha won Chandmari ward.

In Tathangchen Ward, Pema Lhamu Lamtha won with 856 votes. In Development Area Ward, Tshering Palden Bhutia with 1434 votes. And in Diesel Power House ward, Bindhya Cintury with 1055 votes.

The Arithang – II Ward was won by Raju Tamang with 1187 votes and in Lower MG Marg-Lall Bazar Ward, Ashok Kumar Prasad won with 1041 votes.

In Upper MG Marg Ward, Sundeep Malu won with 336 votes. Diki Lhamu Lepcha from Tibet Road ward won with 586 votes and Norbu Tamang, won from Pani House Ward with 576 votes.

Milan Gautam won the Daragaon-Lumsey ward with 1465 votes and Chewang Thendup Lecpha won Tadong ward with 659 votes. Ranipool ward was won by Asha Chettri with 1467 votes.

Singtam Nagar Panchayat had all 5 wards up for election, with no candidate being declared as uncontested.

Pipal Dara Ward under Singtam Nagar Panchayat was won by Yad Kumari with 298 votes.

Yad Kumari won Pipal Dara ward.

Mukesh Agarwal won from Daragaon ward with 285 votes; Suresh Kumar Tamang won Chisopani with 415 votes.

Rangpo Nagar Panchayat had 4 wards up for election after Chanatar was declared as uncontested. The Majhitar ward was won by Sanju Manger with 616 votes. With 314 votes, Radha Pradhan won the Mining ward.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply