Members of top three team champions (senior category) with Sikkim chief minister PS Golay and officials of Badminton Association of Sikkim 

Gangtok: The four-day-long Yonex-Sunrise North-East Zone Inter State Badminton Championship- 2019 concluded at the indoor badminton hall in Paljor Stadium, Gangtok on Sunday. Sikkm chief minister PS Golay was present as the chief guest.

A total of 160 players from all eight Northeastern states participated in the championship organised by Badminton Association of Sikkim (BAS).

In the team championship in senior category, Assam emerged as the winner and Manipur stood as runners-up, while Nagaland and Mizoram jointly bagged the third position. Likewise, in team championship in junior category, Manipur became the champions with Assam as the runners-up and Arunachal Pradesh and Mizoram bagging the third position.

Ajay Kumar Singhania, general secretary, Badminton Association of India (BAI), congratulated the entire team of BAS for successfully conducting the prestigious championship. Northeast region has been producing quality and top ranking players for the country, he said.

He also congratulated international and top-ranking players of the region for making the country proud. He further motivated players from the region to work harder to perform well in the national and international championships.

Also Read: Bhaichung Bhutia shuts down former I-League club United Sikkim FC

Dr Wati Julu Jamir, BAI joint secretary, who was also the observer of the championship, congratulated the entire team of BAS for successfully organising the championship in the international standard. He also suggested that Sikkim can host the national championship by adding up some required infrastructures.

While Isharani Baruah and Maini Baruah from Assam became winners in the girls’ doubles, Suraj Goala and Angshuman Gogoi from Assam emerged as the winners of the boys’ doubles.

While Maheshwari Devi Kshetrimayum from Manipur won the girls’ singles finals, Bidyasagar Salam from Manipur won the boys’ singles.

In women’s doubles, Priya Devi Konjengbam and Purnima Devi N from Manipur emerged as the champion and junior mixed doubles final was won by Vilinda Chanu Huidrom and Sirzeet Moirangthem from Manipur.

Isharani Baruah from Assam became the champion in women’s singles and Orijit Chaliha again from Assam won the men’s singles.

Jaji Charu and Pinky Karki from Arunachal Pradesh won the mixed doubles’ finals and Unilkumar Leishangthem and Kh Punsiba Singh from Manipur bagged the men’s doubles.

The chief guest and guests of honour gave away medals and certificates to winners and runners-up in different categories of the championship.

Leave a comment

Leave a comment