Former Indian footballer Bhaichung Bhutia Credit: File image

Gangtok: Football icon Bhaichung Bhutia has been named as a member of the committee which selects sportsperson for top national sports awards like Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, Dhronacharya Award and Arjuna Award for the year 2019.

Taking to his social media account on Thursday, Bhutia said that he is honoured to be a part of the selection committee which has 12 members. “We assure that the most deserving sportspersons would be given the awards,” he added.

The former football captain further appealed sportspersons and others not to call him or any committee members to influence on the awards selection in any way.

Also Read: Sikkim CM PS Golay extends support to Centre’s move on J&K

The committee was notified on August 6 by the Union sports and youth affairs ministry and is headed by retired Supreme Court Justice M Sharma. Prominent members in the committee are athlete Anju Bobby George and boxer MC Mary Kom.

The committee will also select awardees for Dhyan Chand award, Rashtriya Khel Protshan Puruskar and Maulana Abul Kalam Azad trophy.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment