PS Golay, the sixth chief minister of Sikkim, at his new office in Tashiling Secretariat in Gangtok

Gangtok: Three days after being sworn in as the new chief minister of Sikkim, Prem Singh Tamang, popularly known as PS Golay, on Thursday distributed portfolios to 11 ministers in his cabinet, keeping key departments such as home, finance, planning and development, NEC affairs and other non-assigned departments to himself, a notification issued by the Raj Bhavan said.

Golay and the 11 cabinet ministers were administered oath of office by governor Ganga Prasad at Paljor Stadium in Gangtok on May 27.

Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) MLAs Kunga Nima Lepcha and Sonam Lama, who were re-elected from their respective constituencies of Shyari and the special Sangha seat, have also been given key portfolios of the state.

Sitting MLA and Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) acting president Kunga Nima Lepcha after casting his vote

Lepcha, a retired bureaucrat who won from the Gangtok constituency in the 2019 assembly elections, has been handed the charge of human resources development, law and legislative and parliamentary affairs, land revenue and disaster management departments.

Also Read: WATCH: PS Golay sworn in as new Sikkim CM, ends SDF’s 25-yr rule

Sonam Lama of Sangha constituency has been allocated rural management and development, Panchayati Raj, cooperative and ecclesiastical departments.

Two-time Sangha MLA Sonam Lama will hold the ministerial charge of three departments

Bedu Singh Panth, a former MLA under Nar Bahadur Bhandari and former chief minister Pawan Kumar Chamling’s governments, will hold the designation of minister for the first time. He got the portfolios of tourism and civil aviation, along with commerce and industries departments.

Despite being in politics for three decades, Bedu Singh Panth became a minister for the first time in the PS Golay government

Dr Mani Kumar Sharma, a former dermatologist, has secured the portfolio of health care, human services along with family welfare, social justice, empowerment and welfare departments. Arun Upreti, who won the mandate from Arithang constituency, was allotted urban and housing development, food and civil supplies departments.

Arun Upreti will hold the charge of urban development department

Lachen-Mangan MLA Samdup Lepcha, who defeated Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) minister TW Lepcha, has been made the roads and bridges and cultural affairs minister. Meanwhile, Gyalshing Barnyak legislator Lok Nath Sharma is the new agriculture, horticulture and information and public relations minister under the SKM government.

Also Read: PS Golay, we hope the ‘parivartan’ you promised in Sikkim is real

Daramdin MLA Mingma Norbu Sherpa, the first minister from Sherpa community in the state, has been allocated the charge of power and labour departments.

Mingma Norbu Sherpa will be the first minister from the Sherpa community

Former forest officer Karma Loday Bhutia has been allocated forest, mines and geology, science and technology departments. Yangthang MLA Bhim Hang Limboo has been handed over water supply and river development departments. Sanjit Kharel got public works (building and housing ) and transport departments.

Of the remaining five SKM legislators, Yuksom Tashiding MLA Sangay Lepcha has been appointed as the pro-tem Speaker of the 32-member legislative assembly. CM Golay’s son and Chakung Soreng MLA Aditya Golay, MLAs LB Das, Bishnu Kumar Sharma and Sunita Gazmer were not given any portfolios.

CM PS Golay after assuming office along with his political secretary Jacob Khaling (right) and confidential assistant Bikash Basnet (left)

Meanwhile, chief minister PS Golay, who didn’t contest the election this time, will do so within six months.

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment