SKM leader PS Golay officially took charge as the new CM of Sikkim at Tashiling, Gangtok on Monday Credit: EastMojo image

YouTube video

Gangtok: Sikkim Krantikari Morcha (SKM) president Prem Singh Tamang, popularly known as PS Golay, was sworn in as the sixth chief minister of Sikkim at a function held in Paljor Stadium, Gangtok on Monday.

The 51-year-old leader was administered the oath of office by governor Ganga Prasad at a grand ceremony in Paljor Stadium, Gangtok. Eleven other MLAs were sworn in as part of Golay’s council of ministers.

Earlier on Saturday, the SKM founder, along with the 17 newly-elected MLAs of the party, had called on the governor to stake claim to form the next government in the Himalayan state.

The announcement came after Prasad reportedly told the SKM leaders to wait for his decision as he wanted to seek legal opinion from the Chief Justice of India as Golay had been convicted to a year’s imprisonment in a corruption case in 2017.

“Governor has been pleased to accept the memorandum submitted by Shri Prem Singh Tamang (Golay), president of Sikkim Krantikari Morcha Party and leader of Legislative Party of Sikkim Krantikari Morcha, to form the government,” a press statement from Raj Bhawan said.

While speaking to the media on Saturday, Golay expressed his gratitude to the Sikkimese people for their faith, support and loyalty towards the party and the candidates.

“It’s due to their unconditional support we were able to form the government this time. Once the government is formed officially we will start working on the promises made and come with ‘parivartan’ in the state,” Golay said.

Also Read: Why are yaks dying in hundreds in North Sikkim?

He further assured not to take action on any government employees even if they supported or voted for the other parties. “We take them as an employee and their choice, so SKM is not up for victimisation or transfers,” he added.

In the assembly elections this year, the results of which were announced on May 23, two candidates from the Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) and one from the SKM have from six constituencies, necessitating a by-election.

“SKM is ready to contest any by-election which will be conducted soon,” Golay said.

“Being an NDA partner in the Centre, SKM will support the BJP and PM Narendra Modi. Our newly elected MP Indrahang Subba is on his way to Delhi where he will represent Sikkim in Parliament,” added Golay.

The SKM defeated incument CM and SDF founder Pawan Kumar Chamling’s 25 years of rule in the 2019 Assembly elections. With a thin margin of two seats, the SKM was able to form the government this time. It won 17 seats in comparison to the SDF’s 15 in the 32-member legislative assembly.

Earlier in 2014, SKM had won 10 seats but seven MLAs later defected to the party and got tagged as ‘bikuwas’ by the ‘krantikaris’.

Sikkim Krantikari Morcha president and newly-elected CM PS Golay with Sikkim governor Ganga Prasad and the 17 winning candidates of the party
Sikkim Krantikari Morcha president PS Golay with the 17 winning candidates of the party submitting memorandum to governor Ganga Prasad

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment