Rasik Mohan Chakma
Rasik Mohan Chakma

Aizawl: In yet another political turnover in Chakma Autonomous District Council (CADC), incumbent Chief Executive Member (CEM) Rasik Mohan Chakma of Mizo National Front (MNF) was removed through a no-confidence motion in the first sitting of the council budget session on Monday.

The no-confidence motion was moved by MNF member Kali Kumar Tongchangya, the statement issued by CADC information and public relations department said.

The motion was moved soon after the session began at 10:30 am and chairman Buddha Lila Chakma adjourned the session till 1 pm, it said.

Discussion and voting on the motion was held in the second sitting of the session and Rasik Mohan Chakma lost by 13 members voting in favour of the motion, it said.

Six members, including Rasik Mohan Chakma, were absent from the session, the statement said. The present council, which was formed in April 2018, has so far witnessed a change in CEM at least four times. 

Mizo National Front (MNF) leader and veteran Chakma politician Rasik Mohan Chakma was sworn in as the new CEM of the opposition- free CADC after incumbent CEM Durjya Dhan Chakma resigned in October last year.

Rasik Mohan Chakma had held the office of CEM for four times since 1999 and in the present term he occupied the CEM office for two times. The veteran Chakma politician has been elected at least five times as a member of the Chakma council from Borapansury constituency since 1993.

He was elected to the state assembly while holding the post of CEM of CADC in 2003. He resigned as a legislator in 2006 to retain his post in the council.

Chakma was re-elected to the CADC in 2018 election and took over as the CEM in January 2019 to replace Shanti Jiban Chakma of BJP.

He resigned on voluntary ground on March 29 last year to pave the way for his predecessor Durjya Dhan Chakma, who occupied the CEM office for only about 6 months.

The CADC was created in 1972 for the Chakma tribals living in south-western part of Mizoram.

The council threw up a “hung” house in the last council polls held in April 2018, where the MNF won 8 seats, Congress (6) and BJP (5), while the countermanded Fultuli constituency was later won by Congress.

Later, 4 Congress members defected to MNF and another 2 to the BJP.  

With Shanti Jiban Chakma, the last BJP member to join the MNF  in October last year , the council now is under complete control of the MNF party. 

Mizoram: Mara Autonomous Council elections results in ‘hung’ house

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply