Imphal: Manipur Chief Minister N Biren Singh on Friday allocated new portfolios to six cabinet ministers after two weeks of their induction in the council of ministers. With this, all the 12 ministers, including CM Biren Singh, have now assumed charge of their respective ministries.

According to a cabinet allocation notification, the education department, which was earlier allocated to former Speaker Yumnam Khemchand Singh, has been allotted to Thounaojam Basanta Singh along with law and legislative affairs department.

With this change, minister Y Khemchand now holds the charge of the departments of MAHUD and rural development and Panchayati Raj.

Dr Sapam Ranjan Singh, a former advisor (health) to CM Biren Singh in the previous government, will take charge of medical, health & family welfare, and publicity & information departments, as per the notification.

Letpao Haokip, who had served as minister for youth affairs and sports, was allotted the tribal affairs & hills department, and horticulture & soil conservation departments. In 2017, Letpao was elected for the first time from the National People’s Party (NPP) but he later joined the BJP.

Leishangthem Susindro Meitei (Yakima) has been given charge of departments of public health engineering and consumer affairs, food and public distribution, as per the notification.

Heikham Dingo Singh is allocated three portfolios, including social welfare, skill, labour, employment & entrepreneurship, and fisheries departments.

The Naga People’s Front (NPF) party’s Khashim Vashum has got the departments of animal husbandry & veterinary and transport.

Meghalaya: 2 more border ‘haats’ in May to strengthen Indo-Bangla ties

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment