Guwahati: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and its ally, the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP), on Sunday recorded a near-clean sweep of the 60-seat Guwahati Municipal Corporation (GMC) polls.

The saffron party won 52 seats while its ally Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) won 6 wards. The Aam Admi Party (AAP) and Asom Jatiya Parishad (AJP) won one seat each.

AAP candidate Masuma Begum won from ward number 42, while AJP’s Hukum Chand Ali secured victory in ward number one, defeating the BJP candidates.

Notably, the BJP had won three wards unopposed. The Congress, the state’s second-largest party, failed to even open its account.

Polling in 57 wards out of the 60 wards of the Guwahati municipal Corporation was held on April 22.

Also Read: GMC polls: PM Modi thanks voters for giving ‘resounding mandate’ to BJP

The election to the Guwahati civic body polls recorded 52.80 percent voter turnout. Altogether 208 candidates were in the fray in 57 wards, which was being held after a gap of nine years.

The Congress had contested the most wards at 54, followed by the ruling BJP at 50, AAM Admi Party at 39 and the Assam Jatiya Parishad at 25.  BJP’s ally Asom Gana Parishad contested in seven wards as per its seat-sharing arrangement with the BJP.

Thanking the people of Guwahati, Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma said that with this massive mandate people have reaffirmed their faith on the BJP’s development journey under the guidance of Primi Minister Modi.


Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment