GMC elections

Guwahati: The counting of votes for the Guwahati Municipal election is underway for 57 wards out of 60 wards amid tight security arrangements,

At the time of filing this report, the BJP looked set to trounce the elections, with various media outlets suggesting the party was leading on 40-55 seats. The party had already won 11 seats and was leading on over 40 more seats.

The only non-BJP candidates to win so far are Assam Jatiya Parishad’s Hukum Chand Bakshi from Ward number 1 and AAP candidate Masuma Begum from ward number 42, which comprises parts of Barsajai, Hatigaon , Nodbama and Embankment road.

The Congress, on the other hand, is yet to open their account.

Notably, polling in 57 wards out of the 60 wards of the Guwahati municipal Corporation was held on April 22 as the BJP had won the other three wards unopposed. The election to the Guwahati Municipal Corporation recorded 52.80 percent voter turnout. Altogether 208 candidates were in the fray in 57 wards.

The Congress had contested the most wards at 54, followed by the ruling BJP at 50, AAM Admi Party at 39 and the Assam Jatiya Parishad at 25.  BJP’s ally Asom Gana Parishad contested in seven wards as per its seat-sharing arrangement with the BJP. 

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment