Nagaland Rajya Sabha

Kohima: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), on Friday, nominated the state unit’s BJP Mahila Morcha president, Phangnon Konyak, for the upcoming Rajya Sabha election.

Although the Nagaland opposition-less government under the umbrella of the United Democratic Alliance (UDA) is yet to name a consensus candidate, it is most likely that BJP may be the consensus candidate.

If Konyak secures the lone Rajya Sabha seat, she will be the second women member of Parliament from the state after Rano M Shaiza who was an MP during the 6th Lok Sabha.

Nagaland will poll on March 31. Earlier, the Additional Secretary & Returning Officer for the election, Khruohituonuo Rio, informed that the poll will be conducted at the Conference Hall, Annex Room of the Assembly Secretariat between 9:00 am to 4:00 pm, as approved by the Election Commission of India.

The last date of nominations is March 21, which will be followed by the scrutiny on March 22, and the last date for withdrawal of candidatures on March 24, before 3:00 PM.

“Heartiest congratulations to BJP Nagaland State Mahila Morcha President, Smt. @phangnon for being selected as the candidate for the Biennial Election to the Council of State from Nagaland. Wishing you all the very best for the upcoming election. @BJP4Nagaland stands with you,” state BJP president Temjen Imna Along tweeted.

Deputy CM Y Patton also tweeted saying: “Heartfelt congratulations to Smti @phangnon, President of @MahilaMNagaland, on being selected as the candidate for the biennial election to the Council of States (Rajya Sabha) from Nagaland. Her candidacy is well deserved, and I wish her the very best!”

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply