Serchhip bypoll on April 17
Representational Credit: Representational image | Pixabay

Aizawl: Four candidates have filed nominations for the upcoming by-poll to Tuirial assembly seat slated for October 30, an official said on Friday.

The by-poll to Tuirial seat was necessitated by the demise of incumbent MLA Andrew H. Thangliana, who died in August. 

“Four candidates from four different parties have filed nominations for the by-poll till 3  pm on Friday, the last date of filing nomination papers,” Kolasib additional deputy commissioner Lallawmawma, who is the returning officer for the by-poll, said. 

The ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) has fielded K. Laldawngliana, while main opposition ZPM fielded Laltlanmawia, he said. Congress candidate Chalrosanga Ralte and BJP nominee K. Laldinthara were the other two candidates who filed their nominations on Friday.

The scrutiny of the nomination papers will be held on October 11, while the last date for withdrawal of candidature is October 13.

According to Lallawmawma, more than 17,900 voters are expected to exercise their franchise in 27 polling stations. However, the final roll is yet to be published. Of the total voters, 663 are Brus, who are currently lodged at transit camps in Tripura and have been already allowed to permanently settle there,

The Election Commission of India (ECI) is yet to decide whether or not to arrange special polling booths for the Bru voters.

Political parties and civil society organisations have been demanding the deletion of names of Bru voters, who were reluctant to return to Mizoram and have been already allowed to re-settle in Tripura. 

Also read: Journalists from Philippines, Russia given Nobel Peace Prize

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment