Aizawl: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has named state party spokesperson and former student leader K. Laldinthara as the party candidate for the upcoming by-poll to Tuirial assembly seat, which is scheduled to be held on October 30.

BJP national general secretary Arun Singh announced the names of party candidates for assembly by-polls of Mizoram along with Maharashtra and Telegana through a press statement on Sunday.

BJP Mizoram unit president Vanlalhmuaka on Monday formally announced the party candidate for Tuirial by-poll at a function held at the party office in Aizawl.

Speaking on the occasion, K. Laldinthara said he would give priority to the welfare of the minorities if he is elected. He said that there are many people from minority groups, including the Brus, in Tuirial constituency.

The 48-year-old founder president of Mizo Students’ Union (MSU), one of the influential student bodies in Mizoram, said he would also take measures to ensure that the Gurkha community in Mizoram enjoy OBC status like their brethren in other parts of the state. The Gurkha community is not recognised as an OBC in Mizoram.

“I will make efforts to uplift the minority sections, including the Brus and the Gurkha communities. I will work for all round development of the constituency with the help of the Centre if I am elected,” he said.

Laldinthara blamed the ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) for allegedly failing to implement various Central schemes in the constituency and in failing to execute the development agenda of the NDA government despite being an NDA ally.

Meanwhile, party president Vanlalhmuaka accused Chief Minister Zoramthanga of intimidating people for his remarks that the people of Tuirial would regret unless they cast their votes in favour of the ruling MNF candidate.

During a campaign kickoff at two different places- Thingdawl and Kawnpui villages on Saturday – Zoramthang had said the people of Tuirial would regret if they vote for opposition candidate.

The CM had urged the people to cast their votes in favour of ruling candidate Laltlanmawia.

Hitting out at the chief minister, Vanlalhmuaka said, “His remarks were undemocratic and he is not fit to be a chief minister in a democractic country for using such intimidating remarks.”

The BJP president also urged the state election commission to allow the Brus, who are now in Tripura transit camp, to exercise their franchise in order to enable them to enjoy their constitutional rights as the Bru voters are still enrolled in the state voter list.

At least 663 Bru voters from Turial assembly constituency are still enrolled in the state voter list, according to election commission officials.

The Bru voters are now lodging at transit camps in Tripura and their re-settlement in that state is under process.

Earlier, Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) and People’s Conference Party (PCP) had urged the Election Commission of India (ECI) to not allow the Bru voters, who are already permitted to permanently settle in Tripura, to cast their votes in the upcoming by-polls.

Central Young Mizo Association (CYMA), however, urged the election commission not to make any special arrangement or separate polling stations for the Bru voters in Tripura.

The by-poll to Tuirial assembly seat will be held simultaneously with three parliamentary constituencies and 29 other assembly seats in various states on October 30.

The by-poll to Tuirial assembly seat was necessitated by the death of incumbent MLA Andrew H. Thangliana of ZPM, who died on August 17. 

The ruling Mizo National Front (MNF) nominee K. Laldawngliana is tipped against ZPM’s nominee Laltlanmawia and former Congress legislator Chalrosanga Ralte.

The by-poll is believed to witness a triangular fight among these three.

Also read: BJP names three candidates for Assam by-polls

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply