Tripura TMC
File image

Agartala: Trinamool Congress (TMC) is gaining ground in Tripura in the run-up to the 2023 elections, and it seems the ruling BJP is not interested in giving the party any more ‘space’ than it currently occupies in the state.

On Tuesday, the Trinamool Congress submitted an application requesting permission to hold padayatra in Agartala for the third time in 24 hours after the police again denied permission for their rally on September 16.

The Tripura Police denied permission to the TMC for a rally on September 15, citing another political party rally in the city. After that, the TMC was denied permission for September 16 due to the Vishwakarma puja festival the following day.

The Sadar sub-divisional police officer in a letter to TMC leader Subal Bhowmik said, “…it is regretted that we are not in a position accord permission for holding rally at Agartala Town on 15/09/2021 on alternative routes as another large scale political gathering is already scheduled on the same day at Agartala town… it is not possible to permit for holding of rally 15/9/2021 since there will be law & order commitment of Police in view of Vishwakarma Puja which falls on 17/09/2021.”

“Vishwakarma Puja is celebrated throughout the state in a large scale by different Organizations, Market Committees, individuals and Police TSR units. Due to our commitments for traffic management and law & order from the pre-puja period, it is not possible to mobilize manpower for covering such a huge gathering. Besides, it will cause inconvenience to the public,” the letter reads.

Speaking with reporters, TMC spokesperson Kunal Ghosh said that they have submitted the application for the third time to hold the rally on September 22 next.

“We have written the letter following all the legal process and we hope that the permission would be granted to organize the rally. Now, if we are denied permission, we will move the Court,” Ghosh said.

Sushmita Dev said they are waiting to see which political party will hold a rally and how many security personnel would be deployed on that day for their rally.

TMC’s second coming in Tripura to be better than its debut?

Tripura cabinet minister and youth leader Sushanta Chowdhury told reporters on Monday that Trinamool wants to disrupt peace in the style of the CPIM.

“The TMC feels that BJP is afraid of them, and therefore, the police have taken the step in the name of maintaining law and order. However, the Mahila Morcha program was scheduled long ago on the same day,” Chowdhury said.

Speaking further, he said that the Trinamool already had multiple opportunities to change the government in Tripura. However, the TMC has repeatedly failed.

“Trinamool has tried hard to confuse the people to create unrest in Tripura. The TMC is constantly spreading lies in the name of joining programs. The people of Tripura could not trust the TMC. Therefore, the party now relies on the people of Karimganj, Silchar and Cachar to fight against the BJP,” Chowdhury added.

Earlier on September 2, after arriving in Tripura, Trinamool Congress leader Sushmita Dev said it would be a challenge to create an organisation in Tripura.

Dev said that the BJP had made boastful promises in the Tripura elections, but it had failed. Therefore, it is time to respond to the betrayal of the people.

According to her, the Left is inactive in Tripura, and Congress has not been able to form a committee for two years. Amid all this, the Trinamool Congress is coming to fight against the misrule in Tripura.

The TMC has had no electoral presence in Tripura since its inception in 1998. In 2016, six Congress MLAs led by former TPCC President Sudip Roy Barman had, however, defected to the TMC. These MLAs later joined BJP ahead of the 60-member assembly elections held in 2018 on the plea that they received no support from Mamata Banerjee’s party during their crisis.

The TMC filed nominations in 24 seats in the 2018 assembly elections, but could not win a single seat, and secured a mere 0.3 per cent vote share.

The BJP, which won the election with 36 seats and 43.59 per cent vote share, formed the government, while the CPI (M), which had ruled the state for around 25 years, got 16 seats despite a 42 per cent vote share. The Indigenous Progressive Regional Alliance (IPFT), which has now allied with the BJP, won eight seats.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply