Nagaland has demanded Assam Police to immediately release James Kikon Credit: Representational image
YouTube video

Kohima: Members of the Nagaland Legislative Assembly (NLA), on Thursday, after thorough deliberation on the Nagaland-Assam border issue, unanimously adopted a three-point resolution to resolve the long-pending border issue.

One of the three-point resolutions adopted by the house is that the border issue with Assam should be amicably settled outside the court by the two State Governments.

Another resolution adopted by Nagaland Legislative Assembly is the constitution of a ‘Select Committee’ of the house to examine all aspects of the Assam-Nagaland border issue and submit its report within 3 months.

The other resolution is to request the Union Home Minister to “ensure maintenance of status quo in letter and spirit in the disputed area till settlement of the issues”.

Meanwhile, the Select Committee will be led by Nagaland chief minister Neiphiu Rio as convenor; Dy CM Y Patton and Leader of Opposition TR Zeliang as co-convenors; Legislators Paiwang Konyak, Jacob Zhimomi, Mhathung Yanthan, and Amenba Yaden as members; Members of Parliament KG Kenye (Rajya Sabha) and Tokheho Yepthomi as special invitees; and Commissioner of Nagaland and Secretary of Border Affairs as secretary.

Also read | Pandemic hugely affected Nagaland’s economy: CM

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment