Kohima: The Tobu District Demand Committee (TDDC) reaffirmed its decade-old demand for a full-fledged district from the status of a sub-division for “just and effective governance”.

Saying that Tobu is the oldest administrative sub-division in the district established at Pessao in 1952, which was later shifted to Tobu in 1954, the TDDC, through its Secretary Sangti Konyak, said in 1987 the Nagaland government had appointed Alienba Ao as the Deputy Commissioner of Tobu.

Through a release, it said that in 2006, the Civil Society Organization under the Tobu sub-division made a proposal to the State government for upgradation of Tobu ADC headquarter to that of full-fledged District headquarter.

It recalled that in 2007, the TDDC’s demand for up-gradation of Tobu to a district was included in the notification issued under Home Department, GAB-1 in the “list of Demands for creation/upgradation and changes in Administrative Head Quarters”.
The TDDC said that Tobu headquarter is located over 120 km from Mon headquarter, and majority of the villages at the Myanmar border under Tobu Sub-division are located over 190 km from the District.

“It is crystal clear that the demand for Tobu district is a public cry for justice to fill the infrastructural and staffing gaps, to improve the service delivery system, economic upliftment and lasting peace,” it said, further adding that the creation of a district will give “access, universality and equity” which will “eventually help in achieving the developmental goal of the state”.

It added “With all the relevant documents and profile of Tobu District demand endorsed with signature of Village Councils and other stakeholders of Tobu and Moka being submitted to the state government time and again, we are optimistic that the decade old aspiration and prayer of Tobu and Moka will soon be achieved under the dynamic leadership of Shri. Neiphiu Rio, Hon’ble Chief Minister of Nagaland”.
Adding that Tobu is the oldest ADC headquarter in Mon District, which was established on July 13 in 1990, it said that Tobu is also the only Sub-Divisional Development and Planning Board in Mon District.

The TDDC also requested the Aboi District Demand Committee not to include Tobu and Moka under Aboi district demand as there are demands for separate districts, endorsed by a series of public rallies that took place at Angjangyang, Mopong and Tobu since 2006.

Further, it urged the nine Konyak legislators, Konyak Union (Mon), Konyak Students’ Union, KNSK Mon, Mon District GB’s Association, KVCU Mon, KBBB Mon and all its neighbours to “render their support and cooperation towards the Tobu District Demand for larger peace and development in State”.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply