Agartala: The Tripura Left Front released a list of 28 candidates for the Tripura Tribal Area Autonomous District Council elections, naming 17 new faces and replacing some heavyweight leaders.  

The 17 new faces include four women candidates. Leaders like Ranjit Debbarma did not get a place in the list of candidates.

In the last ADC election, there were only six new faces among the list of candidates. The new faces are an attempt to counter the age-old anti-incumbency.

Speaking at a press conference, Left Front convener Bijan Dhar said that the list of candidates was prepared after judging their previous work. The Left Front has re-nominated all those who have done well as people’s representatives, he added.

The Left Front is the first to announce candidates in the upcoming ADC elections. The CPM has fielded candidates in 25 seats, while allies Communist Party of India, Forward Block and Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP) are contesting one seat each. The ADC has 25 reserved seats and 3 non-reserved seats.

Dhar said that it has been proven that it isn’t possible to accelerate development in the ADC without the Left Front.

“The Left Front will contest the elections in the interest of the people and not slander any political party. The IPFT had captured the ADC in 2000 at gunpoint. But, in those five years, the ADC was looted,” Dhar said.

He also said that the Left Front would fight against all evil forces in the ADC elections in Tripura.

“Restoring democracy, good governance, establishing human rights and meeting the needs of the people will be the key issues in the election campaign. We have not considered the name of the leaders,” Dhar added.

He further said that in the list, most candidates are below 50 years of age with good qualifications and a Left-leaning ideology. 

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

Leave a comment

Leave a comment