Tripura High Court Credit: File image

Agartala: The High Court of Tripura on Friday issued a notification designating 12 lawyers as senior advocates of the High Court.

The decision came after a gap of five years and the last time the High Court designated only two lawyers as senior advocates. The High Court had received around 43 applications from the lawyers seeking to be designated as senior.

The list advocates includes Deba Ranjan Ghowdhury, Haribal Debnath, Ajit Kumar Das, Dipak Kumar Biswas, Pradyot Kumar Dhar, Tapas Datta Majumder, Bibhal Nandi Majumder, Purushuttam Roy Barman, Somik Deb, Debalay Bhattacharya, Samrat Kar Bhowmik and Subrata Sarkar.

Also Read: Tripura: HC notice to state govt on terminated teachers plea against denial to protest

Speaking with EastMojo, Registrar General DM Jamatia said that the applications were invited in the year 2019, but due to some conveniences and the COVID-19 pandemic last year, the process was delayed.

“On February 6, the physical interview of the applicants was done and the notification was issued on Friday,” Jamatia said.

In a four page notification issued by the registrar (judicial) V Pandey said that in exercise of powers conferred under Section 16 of the Advocates Act, 1961 and in pursuance of the ‘Guidelines for designation of senior advocates’ framed by the High Court of Tripura in terms of the Judgment and order dated 12.10.2017 of the Supreme Court of India in Writ Petition (Civil) No.454 of 2015 ( Indira Jaising versus Supreme Court of India through Secretary General and Ors) the High Court of Tripura has been pleased to designate the following advocates as Senior Advocates with immediate effect.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment