Meghalaya celebrates 49th anniversary statehood day

Shillong: On Thursday, Meghalaya celebrated the 49th anniversary of its statehood Chief Minister Conrad K Sangma as the chief guest and James PK Sangma, Minister Information & Public Relations, as the Guest of Honour.

January 21, which is usually celebrated with a lot of festivity and pageantry, saw relatively subtle celebrations on Thursday at the U Soso Tham Auditorium, owing to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The function, organised by the Directorate of Information and Public Relations, was also attended by Home Minister Lahkmen Rymbui, Health Ministert AL Hek and other senior government officials and functionaries.

Addressing the gathering, Chief Minister Conrad Sangma said, “As Meghalaya celebrates its 49th anniversary of statehood, it is important to remember and honour the contributions of past leaders and forerunners of the State, whose relentless efforts and sacrifices led to the creation of a separate hill state. Over the last 49 years, we as a State have achieved several milestones in development, governance and individual excellence.”

While highlighting achievements in the State, the CM said: “I salute all those individuals who have brought laurels to the State over the years in various fields, including art, literature, music, sports, public and community service.”

Sangma said his government has ambitious plans to fast track development processes and work towards transforming Meghalaya into a model state.

“Government is investing around Rs 1,200 crore to improve the major roads across the state. We are also in the final stages of making the plans for complete revamp of the health infrastructure, under which the 659 health facilities in the State shall be upgraded.”

Stating that Meghalaya will achieve a major milestone in its 50th year, the CM said, “We will be celebrating the 50th anniversary of statehood and 75th Anniversary of Indian Independence. A number of programs and events are planned to commemorate that historic day. I am setting up a committee chaired by me and comprising of our honourable cabinet ministers, eminent individuals from different walks of life and officials to work out the programs and events as we move towards the next Meghalaya day.”

The Chief Minister also felicitated the recipients of the Meghalaya Day Excellence Award 2020.

Leave a comment

Leave a comment