The Education Ministry has decided to waive off the 75% marks in class 12 exam eligibility criteria under JEE (Main) for the next academic year 2021-2022 in respect of NITs, IITs, SPAs and other CFTIs, whose admissions are based on JEE (Main).

Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank, Union Cabinet Minister for Education tweeted, “Considering the decision taken for IIT JEE (Advanced) and in line with the decision taken for the last academic year, it has been decided to waive off the 75% marks (in class 12 exam) eligibility criteria under Joint Entrance Examination (Main) for the next academic year 2021-2022.”

The admissions to various Under Graduate (UG) programmes of the National Institutes of Technology (NITs), Indian Institute of Engineering Science and Technology (IIEST), Shibpur (West Bengal) and other Centrally Funded Technical Institutions (CFTIs – excluding IITs) are made based on ranks/merit secured by the candidates in JEE Examination (Main) conducted by the National Testing Agency (NTA).

For the candidates to qualify for admission in the IITs / NITs / IIITs and such other CFTIs whose admissions are based on the JEE Ranks, they should have secured at least 75% marks in the 12th Class exam, or be in the top 20 percentile in the 12th Class exam conducted by the respective Boards.

Moreover, for SC/ST students, the qualifying mark in 12th Class exam is 65%.

JEE and NEET syllabus will remain unchanged for 2021, education ministry said. Unlike previous years, this year the candidates will have options to answer the questions in JEE and NEET Examinations.

Also Read: AASU to protest during visit of PM, Shah to Assam

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply