Kolkata civic polls
Kolkata civic polls Credit: File image

Itanagar: In its maiden polls, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won six of the eight seats in Arunachal’s Pasighat Municipal Council (PMC) elections on Saturday, while Congress, which bagged seven seats in 2013, won only two.

Among the BJP candidates, Yalop Nyigang Yomso won by 11 votes, Okiam Moyong Borang won by 115 votes in ward no. 2, Kaling Doruk won ward no. 3 by 47 votes, Rebika Megu won ward no. 4 by 240 votes, Ponung Radeng Saring won ward 5 by 178 votes and Oyin Gao won ward number 6 by 77 votes.

Of the 20 seats in the Itanagar Municipal Corporation (IMC), BJP won 10, Janta Dal United (JDU) won nine and NPP won one. Among the 10 wins by BJP, five were uncontested.

Earlier during the 2013 civic polls, PMC had 12 seats and IMC had 30 seats. However, after delimitation of wards, the number of seats of both the urban local bodies was reduced.

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment Cancel reply