From left: NDPP candidate Medo Yhokha (with mask) and Independent candidate Yangseo Sangtam (without mask)

Kohima: Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) candidate Medo Yhokha won the 14 Southern Angami-I Assembly Constituency (AC), while Independent (IND) candidate Yangseo Sangtam won the 60 Pungro-Kiphire AC seat in the Nagaland by-polls.

Yhokha, who is the consensus candidate of the People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA), won by a margin of 598 seats against Independent candidate Seyievilie Peter Zashümo for the 14 Southern Angami-I AC.

The candidate from Naga People’s Front (NPF), Kikovi Kirha, secured 2,575 votes. Medo Yhokha (NDPP) secured 4,773 votes while Seyievilie Peter Zashumo (Ind) secured 4,175 votes. A total of 88 votes were counted under none of the Above (NOTA).

Medo Yhokha celebrating his win

Speaking to reporters outside the Deputy commissioner (DC) office, Yhokha said he will give his best to fulfill his commitment to the people in the days ahead. “A huge responsibility lies ahead”, he added.

Also Read: Nagaland by-polls: 3-tier security for counting centres

For the 60 Pungro Kiphire (ST) Assembly Constituency (AC), Independent candidate T Yangseo Sangtam won by 8,747 votes. Indian National Congress (INC) candidate Khaseo Anar secured 347 votes, PDA’s consensus candidate and BJP candidate Lirimong Sangtam secured 5,664 votes, Independent candidate Kiusumew Yimchunger secured 7,220 votes and Independent candidate Shellumthong Yimchunger secured 5,388 votes. NOTA accounted for 94 votes.

Nagaland chief minister Neiphiu Rio Tweeted “Heartiest congratulations to NDPP candidate Medo Yhokha on winning the 14 Southern Angami 1 A/C bye-election. I wish you all the best in serving the people of Nagaland.”

Deputy CM Y Patton also tweeted: “Heartiest congratulations to Shri Medo Yhokha on the victory.

My gratitude to the people of 14 Southern Angami-1 A/C for putting their faith on Shri Yhokha. We’ll work together and build a better future!”

Leave a comment

Leave a comment