BJP releases party manifesto ahead of the Bihar Assembly Elections, in Patna Credit: EastMojo image

Imphal: In a major political outcome, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Manipur on Tuesday swept the by-polls across the three assembly constituencies, strengthening its presence in the Manipur Legislative Assembly.

Earlier, BJP candidate Ginsuanhau Zou was sworn-in as the new MLA from Singhat assembly constituency after he was elected unopposed following an Independent candidate withdrew from his candidature.

After the thumping victory, chief minister N Biren Singh took to his Facebook page and wrote, “A huge day for BJP Manipur.”

Singh also thanked the people of the Manipur for showing their trust in the principles and ideology of BJP and the able leadership of PM Modi.

My sincere thanks to all the people who have voted for the right candidates and made this happen, Singh said.

A total of 11 candidates – 4 Congress, 3 BJP, 1 NPP and 3 Independent, were on the fray in the by-elections of the four ACs amid the spread of the pandemic.

In Lilong, an Independent candidate Y Antas Khan with a total vote count of 14,541 votes defeated Abdul Nasir, another Independent candidate but backed by BJP party.

Congress candidate Md Azizul Haqu Khan secured only 1,922 votes in the Lilong AC by-poll.

Lilong Independent candidate Y Antas Khan received Lilong AC Returning Officer Suleiman Daulat Khan

Also Read: Manipur by-poll: BJP’s O Lukhoi wins Wangoi AC by a slim margin

Newly-elected Wangoi MLA O Lukhoi Singh received Certificate of Election from Wangoi SDO on Tuesday

Oinam Lukhoi Singh of BJP won the Wangoi AC seat in Imphal West district by 257 votes against his nearest rival Khuraijam Loken Singh of NPP. Lukhoi managed to receive a total count of 10,960 votes while Loken secured 10,707 votes, a clear example of neck-to-neck fight.

Salam Joy Singh of the Congress stood third by securing 5,591 votes while 96 voted for NOTA.

According to CM Biren Singh, BJP also swept victory to the remaining two assembly constituencies – Saitu and Wangjing Tentha.

BJP candidate Ngamthang Haokip of Saitu AC in Kangpokpi district won against INC candidate Lamtingthang Haokip with a margin of over 12,000 votes. Ngamthang secured a total vote count of 24,394 while Lamtinthang managed with 12,250 total votes.

Moreover, Paonam Brojen Singh of BJP won with a total vote count of 15,321 in the Wangjing Tentha by-elections defeating his close rival INC candidate Moirangthem Hemanta Singh as he secured 13,808 votes.

On November 7, Manipur registered a voter turnout of 92.54 per cent in the by-elections in the four assembly constituencies with Wangoi recorded the highest poll percentage with 93.26 per cent votes.

BJP candidate Ngamthang Haokip after winning from Saitu AC by-poll on Tuesday

Also Read: Manipur: HC’s judgment on Kakching MLA proves the power of judiciary, says CM Biren Singh

Paonam Brojen Singh of BJP receiving certificate of election from Wangjing Tentha Returning Officer Sorokhibam Imosana on Tuesday

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment