Delhi Capitals take on Sunrisers Hyderabad in Qualifier 2 at the Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium on Sunday Credit: BCCI/IPL

Stakes are high, as the Delhi Capitals take on an in-form Sunrisers Hyderabad in the Qualifier 2 of the Indian Premier League 2020 at the Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium on Sunday.

A cricket match with a lot to win and a lot to lose. A win takes you into the final of the cash rich league, while a loss means you fly back home.

The Delhi Capitals started their campaign with a bang, with seven wins from their first nine games, but then went on to lose four games straight and only with a win against the Royal Challengers Bangalore in the last league match, they qualified for the Playoffs in the top two. Going into the Playoffs, Delhi Capitals were once again beaten comprehensively by Mumbai Indians in the Qualifier 1 on November 5, meaning the Capitals now have five losses in their last six games.

Also Read: IPL 2020|Virat Kohli requests for short tours; feels bio-bubbles are ‘Not Easy’

Meanwhile, the Sunrisers Hyderabad took a different route to the Qualified. Sunrisers Hyderabad had just three wins to their name from the first nine games and were almost written off from the tournament. But then the David-Warner led side completely turned the tournament on its head, winning four games on the trot, playing a virtual knock-out every game. SRH defeated all the top teams in their way to the Playoffs – MI, RCB and DC in the league stage, and again RCB in the Eliminator.

As both Delhi Capitals and Sunrisers Hyderabad battle it out for a place in the final, here we take a look at some of the important talks going around ahead of this game:

Pace unit for DC

Having 45 wickets between them this season, the South African pair of pacers Anrich Nortje and Kagiso Rabada has been the key to DC’s success throughout the tournament. Both Rabada and Nortje were purely destructive during the first half of the tournament where the Capitals had seven wins out of nine matches. Towards the later stages of the tournament where Delhi started to fall back, Rabada and Nortje weren’t quite as effective as they could have been.

Also Read: SRH win 4 in a row to reach Qualifier 2 of IPL 2020; Beats RCB by 6 wickets

Spin to win

Both Delhi and Hyderabad have two of the best exponents of spin bowling in their sides, and even though the spinners haven’t had much to show for in the current season overall, and that largely because of the ground conditions, Ravichandran Ashwin and Rashid Khan have been hard to get away.

Rashid has picked up 19 wickets in the tournament, but what’s even more impressive is his economy rate of just 5.30. The Afghan leggie has put up his hand each time the team needed him.

On the side, the veteran India off-spinner Ashwin who has been in and out of the playing XI due to injury concerns has picked up 13 wickets in the season.

Both the spinners will play an important role in their team’s route to final, as both the teams have some excellent batsmen who plays very well against the spinners.


Overall (17 matches – DC:6| SRH:11)

DC and SRH have fared off against each other 17 times in the IPL so far and SRH have clearly dominated DC with 11 wins out of the 17 matches played.

Recent (Last 5 matches)

SRH have a slightly upper hand here as well in the recent head-to-head numbers, with three wins against DC in the previous five matches.


SRH won by 88 runs

SRH won by 15 runs

DC won by 2 wickets

DC won by 39 runs

SRH won by 5 wickets

Milestones to lookout for

  • David Warner is 5 sixes away from 200 IPL sixes.
  • Shahbaz Nadeem is 3 wickets away from 50 IPL wickets
  • Shreyas Iyer is 67 runs away from 500 runs in IPL 2020

  • Ajinkya Rahane is 69 runs away from 4000 IPL runs


Delhi Capitals: 1 Shikhar Dhawan, 2 Ajinkya Rahane, 3 Shreyas Iyer (capt), 4 Shimron Hetmyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), 6 Marcus Stoinis, 7 Harshal Patel, 8 Axar Patel, 9 Kagiso Rabada, 10 R Ashwin, 11 Anrich Nortje

Sunrisers Hyderabad: 1 David Warner (capt), 2 Shreevats Goswami (wk), 3 Manish Pandey, 4 Kane Williamson, 5 Priyam Garg, 6 Jason Holder, 7 Abdul Samad, 8 Rashid Khan, 9 Shahbaz Nadeem, 10 Sandeep Sharma, 11 T Natarajan


Delhi Capitals vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

Venue – Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium

Toss – 7pm IST

Match Time – 7:30pm IST

Match can be viewed on the Star Sports Network and the Disney + Hotstar VIP subscription.

Also Read: IPL 2020| Best Indian performers this season

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment