Representational image Credit: Representational image

Kohima: Two vacant Assembly constituency seats—14 Southern Angami-I AC and 60 Pungro-Kiphire AC will witness elections on Tuesday. Nagaland’s chief electoral officer Abhijit Sinha informed that the polling will begin at 6 am and will continue till 4 pm.

As per the electoral roll, a total of 29,500 general voters and 101 service voters are under 60 Pungro-Kiphire constituency with 77 polling stations across 58 locations in Kiphire. In 14 Southern Angami-I Assembly constituency in Kohima, there are 13,588 general voters and 53 service voters with 22 polling stations across 20 locations under the constituency.

The CEO informed that around 40% of the polling stations in Kiphire have been identified as critical and vulnerable. 50% of the total polling stations in Kohima have been identified as vulnerable and critical. Sufficient security forces have been deployed, he said.

While all 22 polling stations will have webcasting in Kohima district, 30% of the polling stations in Kiphire will be webcasting, and the remaining polling stations will be under offline videography. All activities in the polling stations will be recorded.

Also Read: Nagaland: COVID-19 ICU admissions increased 5 times in October

COVID-19 preventive measures at polling stations:

Sinha informed that besides the presiding officers, each polling station will have four polling officials and the fourth polling official will be assigned for thermal scanning of all voters prior to the voting.

If the body temperature of any elector is found to be high, the elector will have to vote in the last hour, he informed. The CEO said that for the COIVD-19 positive voters, all necessary arrangements have been made to transport the patients to cast their votes towards the last hour of the polling.

Masks, hand sanitizers and disposable gloves will be provided to every voter at the polling stations. A token system will also be followed to prevent overcrowding at the polling stations.

Seizures made so far:

The CEO informed that the flying squad, static surveillance teams and the excise department seized a cash of Rs 6 lakh from Kiphire, Rs 6,64,000 worth of liquor, and Rs 13,40,000 worth of drugs. The police department also seized three illegal arms and 17 cartridges. He further informed that a total of 86 licensed arms have been deposited.

Also Read: Trio from Delhi on a 25000 km mission to raise funds for COVID-19 relief reach Nagaland

A total of eight candidates will be contesting the bye-elections to the two vacant seats in the Nagaland Legislative Assembly (NLA). NDPP candidate Medo Yhokha, NPF candidate Kikovi Kirha and independent candidate Seyievilie Peter Zashumo are in fray for the 14 Southern Angami-I AC.

For the 60 Pungro-Kiphire AC, INC candidate Khaseo Anar, BJP candidate Lirimong Sangtam, and Independent Candidates S Kiusumew Yimchunger, K Shellumthong Yimchunger and T Yangseo Sangtam will be contesting for the seat.

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment