A delegation comprising of 4 MLAs, led by IPFT general secretary and Tribal Welfare minister Mevar Kumar Jamatia, will visit Delhi in 2nd week of this month Credit: Representational image

Agartala: The ruling BJP’s ally Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura (IPFT) on Wednesday announced a 24-hour bandh in Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council (TTAADC) areas on multiple demands including separate state Tipraland. The bandh will be from 6 am on October 15 to 6 am on October 16 next.

Speaking in a press conference in Agartala Press Club, IPFT assistant general secretary Mangal Debbarma said that during the 13th meeting of the IPFT central executive committee on October 2 the decision was taken.

“A delegation comprising of four MLAs, led by the IPFT general secretary and Tribal Welfare minister Mevar Kumar Jamatia would visit Delhi in the second week of this month,” Mangal said.

Also Read: Tripura scribes seek PM intervention over CM’s remark against media

The delegation will meet several leaders including the Prime Minister, Union home minister and the BJP national president JP Nadda during their visit in New Delhi.

He also said that all the branch organizations under the banner of the IPFT would observe a 24-hour bandh on October 15 demanding separate state for the indigenous people.

”The bandh has been called on a number of demands, including the formation of separate state–Tipraland, publication of the full report of the High Power Modality Committee on Tribal Welfare and enactment of the 125th Constitution in Parliament to empower the ADC,” Mangal added.

Also Read: COVID-19: Wrong to assume that the situation has returned to normal: Tripura High Court

Speaking about the forthcoming polls in the TTAADC, the IPFT assistant general secretary said that the final decision has not yet been taken on seat share or contesting the elections alone. He said that the top leaders of the party would take the final decision in this regard after holding talks with the counterpart.

The BJP-IPFT parties are the partners in the coalition government that jointly defeated CPIM in the 2018 general assembly election.

Of the total 60 seats, the ruling BJP-IPFT coalition government has got 36 seats, of which IPFT has eight, and the opposition CPI-M has 16 seats in Tripura’s legislative assembly.

Also Read: Assam Police recruitment case: Prime accused PK Dutta tests COVID-19 negative

The TTAADC is spread across 68% of the total geographical area of the state and is home to over one-third of the total population of Tripura.

Earlier in January during the sixth session of the 12th Tripura Legislative Assembly, the resolution to increase the seats of Tripura Tribal Areas Autonomous District Council (TTAADC) from 30 to 50 was unanimously passed.

Also Read: Meghalaya partners with Israel to set up centre of excellence on high-value vegetables

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment