Joint Chief Electoral Officer Ramananda Nongmeikapam addressing the media persons on Tuesday in Imphal Credit: DIPR

Imphal: Out of the 13 Assembly constituencies seats which are currently vacant in the Manipur Legislative Assembly, bye-elections for two are set to be held on November 7 amid the COVID-19 pandemic.

During a press briefing on Tuesday, Joint Chief Electoral Officer Ramananda Nongmeikapam informed that as the by-polls for Lilong and Wangjing-Tentha Assembly Constituencies in Thoubal district have been declared, the model code of conduct has come into effect immediately in the entire district.

The issue of notification for the two Assembly constituencies would take place on October 13 and last date of candidate nominations is on October 20. Moreover, scrutiny of nominations is on October 21 and last date for withdrawal of candidature for the by-polls is on October 23, it said.

ECI further said that counting of votes will take place on November 10 and the entire election process would be completed November 12.

Also Read: Manipur painter sells painting at whopping price of Rs 3.74 lakh in Taipei

Earlier, chief minister N Biren Singh had kicked-off the campaign for Paonam Brojen Singh, ex-MLA of the Congress and BJP candidate at Wangjing-Tentha Assembly Constituencies.

Biren’s BJP party is fielding Md Abdul Nasir, another former Congress MLA, at Lilong Assembly Constituencies for the upcoming bye-election.

Lauding the MLAs who resigned the Opposition Congress party and joined BJP, CM Biren Singh earlier said, “To save the Government, they sacrificed and resigned as MLAs. They sacrificed for the sake of the people. There is no sacrifice greater than this.”

In terms of the number of voters, there are 32,398 voters in Lilong AC (15,877 males, 16,518 females and three 3rd genders, whereas the total number of voters in Wangjing-Tentha AC is 31,213 (15,053 males and 16,160 females).

Altogether, there will be 92 polling stations (49 polling stations at Lilong and 43 polling stations at Wangjing-Tentha) for the two assembly constituencies, said the joint CEO.

In view of the COVID-19 pandemic, facility of postal ballot will extend to persons with disability, electors with age greater than 80 years and home & institutional quarantine persons, added Nongmeikapam.

Also Read: Manipur: Portfolios allocated to newly inducted ministers; Rajen Singh gets education

Trending Stories

Latest Stories

Leave a comment

Leave a comment